Thomas Takes Advantage of Bozell’s Misfortune to Win @ the Zoo

Thomas Takes Advantage of Bozell’s Misfortune to Win @ the Zoo

Andy Bozell took the early lead in the fifty lap Outlaw Super Late Model feature Saturday night at Kalamazoo Speedway but suffered a flat right front tire midway through the race and lost six laps.  John Chapman inherited the lead and held it until Intimidator 100 winner Phil Bozell took the lead and began to pull away.  Tom Thomas, who had a terrible crash one week ago, caught Phil and pulled even with him as they approached the slower vehicle of Phil’s uncle Jeff Bozell.  Contact between the two Bozell’s caused Jeff to spin and track officials sent Phil to the rear of the field, handing the lead to Thomas.  Tom held on the rest of the way to win over Chapman, Randy Day, Todd Harrington and Phil.  Rick Senneker, Jeff Bozell, Rick Sexton, Adam VanAvery and Jimmy Gallagher rounded out the top ten.  12-time champion Andy Bozell came back to finish 11th.  Todd Dougherty had a top five run going until a wreck relegated him to a 14th place finish.  Harrington and Jeff Bozell won the heats while Phil Bozell set quick time.

In the Modified feature Brent Hook picked up a much needed victory by holding off defending champion Mike Brooks.  Ben Raber drove the Scott’s car to a third place finish ahead of quick timer Matt Bainbridge.  Randy DeBoer, Ryan Wheeler, Matt Frazier, Chris May, Tom McGhee and Michelle Sexton rounded out the top ten.  AJ Foote was disqualified after an accident under the caution with Steve Dolphin.  Raber and Sexton picked up the heat wins.

Jake Hopwood held off defending champion Buddy Head in a hard fought Super Stock feature.  Kenny Head finished third one week removed from his Opening Night win ahead of Jamison Russell and Cory Kruzel.  Matt Corliss, Rick VanHouten, Mickey Cornwell, Eric McGlothlen (who set quick time) and Todd Foote finished sixth through tenth.  Toby Montgomery, who had a strong run last week was involved in an accident and finished 18th

For the second week in a row the Pro Stocks put on a fantastic show with Keith Wilfong coming out on top this week.  Bob Metheny had a strong second place finish ahead of Toby Montgomery, Lloyd Brooks and Travis Hall.  Tyler Hufford was sixth ahead  of Scott Elsey, Ron Landis, Ashley Markillie and Danny Oxford.  John Foote Jr. and Metheny won heats while Brooks set quick time.

Doug Smith is the only driver to stay unfeated through two weeks with a win in the Cyber Stock feature over Bryan Pion, Nick Layman, Jerry Jansen Sr., and Jerry Jansen III.  Clark Smith, TC Burgess, Bob Miller, Travis Krum and Tim Towne completed the top ten.  Other notables included Kayless Misak in 16th and Lauryn Rousseau in 18th.  Misak and Cliff Lambert won heats while Pion was the fastest qualifier.

Tomorrow is the rescheduled Spring Fling 200 for the Belle Tire Enduro Series.  Pit gates open at noon and racing starts at 6pm.

Share this post