Shook Completes Championship Season with Super Shoe Victory

Shook Completes Championship Season with Super Shoe Victory

2016 NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Kalamazoo Speedway Outlaw Super Late Model champion Mark Shook completed the best season of his career with a victory in the 30th Annual Super Shoe Nationals Sunday at Kalamazoo Speedway.  Shook charged through the field from his 18th place starting spot and held off 2011 Outlaw Super Late Model champion Phil Bozell to collect the victory.  12-time Outlaw Super Late Model champion Andy Bozell finished third ahead of Corey Ryman and former South Bend Speedway Late Model champion Brandon Zachary.  Fast qualifier Brian Ross led the second half of the top ten over Nick Pressler, TK Whitman, Matt Frazier and 1995 Super Stock champion Billy Shannon.  Other winners over the course of the weekend included:

B Feature – Josh Trammell

C Feature – Zach Henderson

D Feature – Matt Elsey

A Last Chance – Austin Maynard

B Last Chance – Ronnie Maynard

C Last Chance – John Culp

D Last Chance – Christina Rantz

A Heat – Brandon Zachary

B Heat – Jacob Maynard

C Heat – Zach Henderson

D Heat – Chris Garrett

E Heat – Doug McLachlan

F Heat – John Russell

G Heat – Zach Henderson

H Heat – Jeff Stetler

I Heat – Matt Elsey

J Heat – Mark Beers

K Heat – Christina Rantz

Jason’s Great Toilet Bowl – Randy Day

The Front Wheel Drive cars put on a great show in their main event with Paul Bittle making a late race pace to collect the victory.  Fast qualifier Jeff Sayles was the runner-up beating out Todd Metz Jr., Corey Holtzlander and Jeremy Young.  Todd Metz finished sixth ahead of Wayne Stack, Joe Grevenstuk, Rob Siegel and Ryan Hufford.  Other winners in the Front Wheel Drive division included:

B Feature – Justin Hardy

C Feature – Scott Elsey

D Feature – Keith Dixon

A Heat – Paul Bittle

B Heat – Duane Green

C Heat – Brian Beckner

D Heat – Scott Elsey

E Heat – Jim Gary

F Heat – John Gonzales

G Heat – Dwight Mann

With on track activity for the season over, the only thing left to do is celebrate.  With that said, The 2016 NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Kalamazoo Speedway Awards Ceremony will be held on Saturday, October 22 at the Western Michigan University Bernhard Center – 1903 W. Michigan Avenue. Happy Hour will go from 5:30-6:30.  The dinner buffet begins at 7:00. The presentation of awards and crowning of the 2016 track champions will take place at 8:00.

Tickets are now on sale and are available by calling 269-692-2423; or send your check to: 321 16th Street Otsego, MI 49078. LAST DAY to order tickets is October 12, 2016 NO EXCEPTIONS!!!  Pre ordered tickets are $40.00 per person.

Kalamazoo Speedway will be the place to be in 2017 for fast, clean, family fun!  Kalamazoo Speedway plays host to some of the best entertainment events in the state and welcomes corporate groups, family outings and suite rentals. Call 269-692-2423 Monday through Friday to learn more or visit the Kalamazoo Speedway website.

For all the latest news and contests check out

You can also follow Kalamazoo Speedway at

Share this post