Raber’s Rival Wins Raber’s Rumble @ the Zoo

Raber’s Rival Wins Raber’s Rumble @ the Zoo

On a night that drivers, teams and fans came together to honor the life of Ben Raber, his longtime rival and close friend Mike “Bubba” Brooks picked up the win in the evenings main event, “Ben’s Dash for Cash”.  Chaz Hook was the runner-up beating out qualifying race #2 winner Brandon Zachary, fast qualifier Kyle Ribble and Shane Miller.  Qualifying race #1 winner Zack Cook led the second half of the top ten over three-time track champion Matt Corliss, Barry Jenkins, Steve Smith and four-time track champion Kenny Head.  Dave Miller picked up the win in “Ben’s Revenge Consolation Race”.

Seven-time and defending champion Buddy Head picked up the victory in a very hotly contested Late Model Sportsman feature.  12-time Outlaw Super Late Model champion Andy Bozell finished second beating out AJ Foote, fast qualifier Jeff Ganus and Chris Garrett.  2015 Outlaw FWD champion Keegan Dykstra finished a solid sixth ahead of Austin Maynard, Kenny Head, Lane Head and Dylan Stovall.  Notable finishers included Chris Shannon in 19th and Jeff Bozell in 21st.  Buddy Heads point lead now sits at 82 over Garrett with Shannon (-120), Dykstra (-144) and Jeff Bozell (-150) rounding out the top five.

Pete Doxey set fast time, started dead last and drove to victory in the Outlaw FWD feature.  Mike Long finished second beating out Corey Woods, Makena Snyder and Drew Losey.    The second half of the top ten was led by John Munro who beat out Valerie Bozell, Jeff Dudley, Joe Lambright and Gabe Carr.  Notable finishers included point leader Adam VanAvery (13th), Johnny Carr (14th) and Camille Lewis (18th).  Woods now leads the point standings by 32 markers over VanAvery, followed by Long (-46), Losey (-54) and Carr (-78)

The Zoo Stock feature saw point leader Jorden Brinkert pull out an impressive win over fast qualifier Matt Elsey, Rielly Meade, Logan Hiemstra and Ross Bergman.  Young Matthew Elsey finished an impressive sixth ahead of CJ French, Logan Meade, Renae Letts and Jared Blanchard.  Mark Campbell picked up the win in the ‘B’ Feature.  Brinkert’s point lead is now 40 over Meade with Bergman (-78), Blanchard (-84) and Hiemstra (-123) rounding out the top five.

After taking a week off Kalamazoo Speedway will return to action in style on Friday, June 14.  That evening we will host the Auto Value Bumper to Bumper Non-Winged Super Sprint Series.  Also in action will be the Outlaw Super Late Models, Late Model Sportsman and Outlaw FWD’s.  

Share this post