Phil Bozell Crowned 2011 Outlaw Super Late Model Champion

Phil Bozell Crowned 2011 Outlaw Super Late Model Champion

It wasn’t exactly the way he wanted to win his first Kalamazoo Speedway title but when Speedway officials were forced to cancel the Season Championship feature for the Outlaw Super Late Models on Saturday night due to weather, Phil Bozell clinched the season long point’s championship.  Phil, who did set quick time earlier in the evening, finished the season 42 points ahead of his 12-time championship winning father Andy Bozell.  Tom Thomas, John Chapman and Rick Sexton rounded out the top five in the championship standings. 

The other four divisions were all able to get their features in before the rain came and stayed.  In the Modifieds Brian Bergakker picked up the feature win but the story was Ben Raber collecting his first Modified championship with his second place finish.  Raber adds this title to his 2004 Pro Stock championship.  Defending champion Mike Brooks finished third in the race ahead of Jordan Dahlke (who set quick time) and Matt Bainbridge.  Brent Hook, Clay Deplanche, AJ Foote, Lindsey Katz and Ryan Wheeler completed the top ten.

The finish of Saturday night’s Super Stock feature will go down in history as one of, if not the most thrilling finish in Speedway history.  Matt Corliss entered the final lap needing to pass one car to win the track championship.  Halfway down the backstretch it looked as though Buddy Head would be celebrating back to back Super Stock titles but Corliss drove his Ed Pubuda owned machine deep into turn three and pulled beside Dave Sensiba.  As the duo exited the fourth corner they made hard contact sending Corliss’s machine airborne.  Sparks flew as the cars approached the finish line as Corliss now went head on into the front stretch wall ahead of Sensiba.  Sensiba pushed Corliss across the line ahead of him and in doing so locked up the first ever Kalamazoo Speedway championship for Corliss.  Corliss had to have his car towed into the pits where he would celebrate his first title.  Lost in all the excitement was Chris Shannon, who picked up the win over Mickey Cornwell, Buddy Head, Eric McGlothlen and Brandon Lyons, who was the fastest qualifier.  Kenny Head finished sixth ahead of Corliss, Matt Frazier, Dave Sensiba and Corey Kruzel.

Toby Montgomery was only able to finish 6th on Saturday night, but it was enough to earn him his first Kalamazoo Speedway Pro Stock title.  Bob Metheny won the race ahead of Travis Hall, Keith Wilfong, Lloyd Brooks and Ron Landis.  Montgomery set quick time and headed up the second half of the top ten ahead of Tyler Hufford, Zack Cook, Scot Elsey and Ashley Markillie. 

Logan Knight picked up the win in the Cyber Stock feature as third place finisher Doug Smith put the finishing touches on his first track championship.  Jerry Jansen III finished second in the race ahead of Smith, Kaylee Misak and Nick Layman.  Bryen Pion was sixth beating out Travis Krum, Cliff Lambert, Doug Nelson and Brian Gregersen. 

Next on the schedule is the Kalamazoo Klassic 200 for the Belle Tire Enduro Series, taking place Sunday September 4.  Jim Cauffman takes a slim seven point lead into the event over Corey Miechiels, Barry Jenkins, Adam Schaut and Jamie Hancock.  The event will kick off at 5:30 with FREE Bus Rides!!  Then at 7:00 the fan favorite Spectator Drags will return followed by the 200 lap enduro.  The night will wrap up with a Powder Puff Enduro for the ladies and finally with FIREWORKS!  For more information log onto

Share this post