Kalamazoo Klash: The Wildest Outlaw Show There Is

Kalamazoo Klash: The Wildest Outlaw Show There Is

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The 20th Running of the Race in Michigan Set for August 15th
By Matt Prieur, Speed51.com Midwest Editor – Twitter: @mattprieur

One of the most prestigious races in the world of Outlaw Bodied Super Late Models is coming on Wednesday, August 15th at the famed Kalamazoo Speedway in Kalamazoo, Michigan as “Kalamazoo Klash XX” will once again thrill fans from the heart of Outlaw country and beyond.
This Saturday, August 11th will be the Outlaw Super Late Model Teams’ final chance to get track time under race conditions at the fast 3/8-mile high-banked paved oval as the Outlaw Super Late Models will race in the Thomas Harding Memorial Klash Tune-Up, which will pay $1,500 to win the 75-Lap Feature. 
A battle has ensued all season long in the chase for the 2012 Track Championship as 12-time Champion and Michigan Motorsports Hall of Fame member Andy Bozell and Brian Bergakker, the 2008 Track Champion in the tracks old Modified division, have pulled away from the rest of the pack and are now in a two-dog race for the 2012 title. 
All four other divisions will be in action as well, including the Pro Stocks who will run the rescheduled Pro Stock Hustle, paying $650 to win.  Super Stocks, Mini Stocks and Cyber Stocks will complete the five division program.
After the Harding Memorial Klash Tune-Up, all focus shifts to Kalamazoo Klash XX Presented by Boyne Machine Company & Lane Automotive for the Outlaw Super Late Models on Wednesday, August 16th.
In 2011 during Kalamazoo Klash XIX, Phil Bozell charged through the field to win his first ever Kalamazoo Klash. Former Klash winner Steve Needles finished second ahead of Johnny Benson Jr., J.R. Roahrig and fast qualifier Trent Hellenga. Needles’ teammate last season, Terry Senneker, finished sixth ahead of Tom Thomas, Mike Luberda, Billy Shannon and Jeff Bozell.
Kalamazoo Klash XX will pay $7,500 to the winner and $1,000 just to start the 150-Lap main event which will be broken up into two segments of 100 laps and 50 laps, with a short break between the two segments. During the break drivers will be allowed to change tires and the starting lineup for the second segment will be determined by how many tires the teams take on during the break. 
The lead lap cars that take two tires will be placed at the front of the field. They will be placed in order with the highest finishing car from the first segment starting on the pole for the second segment. The next highest finishing car that took two tires will start second, and so on. Then the lead lap cars that take four new tires will be placed behind the cars that took two tires. They will be placed in order with the highest finishing car from the first segment starting the highest.

The Klash Bash (B-Feature) for those that don’t make it into Klash XX through Qualifying will pay $1,250 to Win and $300 to Start. The Klash Bash B-Feature winner will then have the option to run Kalamazoo Klash XX if they are willing to forfeit their B-Feature pay in exchange for a starting spot in the Main Feature.  

Boyne Machine Company & Nash Outlets has put up a $250 Award for the Fast Qualifier of the Klash while Russell Automotive is giving $200 to the Winner of the first segment.
In addition, Berlin Raceway’s Coors Light Super Late Models division (Template Bodied Super Late Models) will return after a successful race in conjunction with the Klash in 2011 with a 100-Lap main event as well. They’ll be going for $5,000 to Win as well.
In the Template Super Late Models Feature from 2011, which was a 75-Lap affair, former NASCAR Camping World Trucks Series Champion, Johnny Benson Jr., picked up the win over Ross Kenseth, Alec Carll, Tom Thomas, and Steve Dorer the top five. Brian Campbell was sixth ahead of Josh Hobson, Seth Moody, Jay Niewiek, and Caleb Bisacky who rounded out the top 10.
Sweet Manufacturing is putting up a $1,000 bonus to the driver that has the highest combined finish that competes in both the Kalamazoo Klash and the Coors Light Super Late Model event. If there is a tie the bonus money will be split.
Kalamazoo Klash Winners:
2012: ????
2011: Phil Bozell
2010: Rick Sexton
2009: Steve Needles
2008: Terry Senneker Jr.
2007: Andy Bozell
2006: Johnny Benson Jr.
2005: Lee Anderson
2004: Fred Campbell
2003: Tom Thomas
2002: Chris Orr
2001: Ken Scheffler
2000: Todd Currier
1999: Chris Orr
1998: Mike VanSparrentak
1997: Andy Bozell
1996: Bob Holley
1995: Brian Cloud
1994: Andy Bozell
1993: Andy Bozell
Template Super Late Models Klash Winners:
2012: ????
2011: Johnny Benson Jr.


Share this post