John Long Fastest of 23 Outlaw Super Late Models in Final Pre-Season Test @ the Zoo

John Long Fastest of 23 Outlaw Super Late Models in Final Pre-Season Test @ the Zoo

John Long

For the second consecutive weekend John Long set the fastest speed in Pre-Season Testing at Kalamazoo Speedway, topping the charts with a lap of 12.768 seconds at over 105 mph.  Long was over two tenths of a second faster than the second fastest car of Luke Krick.  Mike “Bubba” Brooks was third fastest ahead of Tyler Roahrig and defending Outlaw Super Late Model champion Brian Bergakker.  Jeff Ganus hit the track for the first time this season and was sixth fastest ahead of Doug True, Todd Harrington, 12-time champion Andy Bozell and his brother Jeff Bozell.

In the ultra-competitive Super Stock division Buddy Head was fastest for the second weekend in a row with a lap of 13.843 seconds.  He was only three one hundredths of a second faster than Lindsey Katz, who was second fastest.  Chris Shannon was third quick ahead of defending champ Kenny Head and Justin Dinzik.  Rounding out the top ten were Kelli Jo Hofacker, 2011 champion Matt Corliss, 1989 Outlaw Super Late Model champion Chris Orr, Ryan Wheeler and Tyler Hufford.

Brad VanAvery was the fastest Pro Stock on the property on Sunday turning a 14.898 second lap.  2009 Modified champion Brent Hook was second ahead of Greg Brown, Ron Landis and Kenny Head, who filled in for Keith Wilfong.

Not to be upstaged by his father, youngster Chaz Hook was the quickest Mini Stock in testing with a 14.907 second lap.  Hook topped defending champion Frank Stager and 1999 Super Stock champion Steve Potter, who were second and third on the charts.  Teammates Shane Clark and Jeremy Collins completed the top five.

Newcomer Richard Peck was the fastest of all Cyber Stocks during the final Pre-Season Test.  Peck’s lap of 16.265 seconds was .093 seconds faster than Jack Cook, who was second.  Tyler McGhan, Allie Huffird and Keegan Dykstra rounded out the top five.

This Saturday, April 20 will be opening night 2013 featuring the Intimidator 100 presented by Boyne Machine for the Outlaw Super Late Models.  A solid field of travelers are expected to challenge the Kalamazoo Speedway regulars for the opening night victory.  Among the expected contenders are defending champion Brian Bergakker, John Long, Luke Krick, Mike Brooks, Tyler Roahrig, Jeff Ganus, Doug True, Mark Shook, Billy Shannon, Rick Senneker and many others.  In addition to the Intimidator 100, all other divisions will also kick off their seasons.

For more information on Kalamazoo Speedway and the Intimidator 100 presented by Boyne Machine visit

Share this post