“Bubba” Wins Hoosier Hustle

“Bubba” Wins Hoosier Hustle

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Kalamazoo Speedway 13_04_06

NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Outlaw Super Late Model point leader Mike “Bubba” Brooks held off a late charge from the two most recent champions to win the $1,500 to win “Hoosier Hustle” Saturday night at Kalamazoo Speedway.  2011 champion Phil Bozell finished second ahead of defending champion and fast qualifier Brian Bergakker in third.  Todd Harrington finished a solid fourth ahead of last week’s winner Rick Senneker.  Luke Krick led the second half of the top ten over Billy Shannon, Marc Casey, Dan Roodvoets and Tim Rugg.  Brooks and Senneker won the heat races.

The Super Stock feature saw Ryan Wheeler emerge victorious over Chris Shannon and Jon Orr.  Point contenders Kenny and Buddy Head finished fourth and fifth, respectively.  Former champion Matt Corliss finished sixth ahead of Tyler Hufford, Darren Lane, Kelli Jo Hofacker and Chris Orr.  Buddy Head set quick time while Corliss and Wheeler won the heats.

The Auto Value Bumper to Bumper Super Sprint Series put on a great race with JoJo Helberg picking up the victory.  Kevin Feeney finished second ahead of Troy DeCaire, Jeff Bloom and Joe Swanson.  Jason Blonde finished sixth ahead of Bill Tyler, Geoff Kaiser, Mike Astrausakas and Jim Swain.  Helberg also set quick time and won his heat race.  The other two heat races were won by DeCaire and Blonde.

This Saturday night all five weekly divisions return to the speedway highlighted by the running of the “Aeroquip 50” for the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Outlaw Super Late Models.  Mike “Bubba” Brooks and “Flyin” Brian Bergakker will continue their head to head battle for the 2013 point championship.  The Super Stocks and Pro Stocks will also be in action, as will the Mini Stocks running the “Mini Stock Nationals Presented by Aeroquip”.  The fan favorite Cyber Stocks will complete the racing program.

For more information on Kalamazoo Speedway visit www.kalamazoospeedway.com.

Share this post