“Bubba” Wins “92.5 the ZUU Shootout” at the Zoo

“Bubba” Wins “92.5 the ZUU Shootout” at the Zoo

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Mike Brooks - WEBSITE

Mike “Bubba” Brooks drove from the back to the front and then held off a late challenge from Spencer Wortinger to win the “92.5 the ZUU Shootout” Saturday night at Kalamazoo Speedway.  Wortinger dropped off the track in the closing laps handing second position to John Long, who made his first visit to Kalamazoo this season.  AJ Foote finished third ahead of John Chapman and Matt Krywosinski.  The second half of the top ten was led by Matt Frazier ahead of last week’s winner Matt Corliss, Todd Harrington, Rick Senneker and Dave Simpson.  Notable finishers included Luke Krick, who was involved in an accident and finished 16th.  Mark Shook set quick time while Marc Casey and Chuck Greer won the heat races.  The win increases the point lead for Brooks to forty points ahead of John Chapman.  Harrington (-70), Foote (-79) and Frazier (-92) round out the top five in the standings after three events.

The Super Stocks ran “Super Stock Mania Presented by Weller Auto Parts” and saw Buddy Head set quick time and pick up the victory.  Chris Shannon finished second beating out Scott Rugg, Jordan Hunderman and Jerry Pierman.  Kelli Jo Hofacker finished sixth ahead of Kenny Head, Jack Cook, Ron Landis and Rob Hardy.  Buddy Head’s point lead now sits at forty-two points ahead of his brother Kenny after three events.  Rugg (-65), Hofacker (-70) and Shannon (-73) complete the top five.

Lloyd Brooks made it three different winners in three races for the Pro Stock division after setting quick time earlier in the evening.  Defending champion John Foote Jr. finished second ahead of Toby Montgomery, Brent Hook and Greg Brown.  Barry Jenkins finished sixth beating out Brad VanAvery, Ron Landis, Budd Hybels and Keith Wilfong.  Lloyd Brooks and John Foote Jr. picked up the heat wins.

Former Cyber Stock champion and fast qualifier Keith Dunham picked up an extremely impressive win in the Mini Stock feature.  Former Mini Stock champion Frank Stager finished second ahead of Shane Clark, Jerime Damron and Billy Bussema.  The second half of the top ten was led by Chuck Greer over Noah Gallandt, Andrew Brest, Logan Knight and Sierra Lantz.  Brest and Damron picked up the heat race victories.

A thrilling photo finish in the Cyber Stock feature saw Jerry Jansen III beat out Kyle Jansen for the victory.  Keegan Dykstra was a solid third ahead of Dan Rigoni and Doug Nelson.  Ryan Hufford finished sixth ahead of Drew Maxwell, Curtis Towne, Kyle Shannon and Dion Vrooman.  Several notables had rough evenings including Brian Gregerson (13th), Cliff Lambert (14th), Jerry Jansen Jr. (15th) and TC Burgess (16th).  Jansen Jr. set quick time while Vrooman and Burgess won the heat races.

This Saturday night, May 10 NASCAR racing returns to the Zoo with another full five in one show featuring the “Cool 101 Shootout” for the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Outlaw Super Late Models.  The Super Stocks and Pro Stocks also return, as do the Mini Stocks, who will run “Mini Stock Madness Presented by Titan Equipment”.  The Cyber Stocks will also have their first special of the season with the running of the “Cybernetic 25 Presented by 7UP”.

For more information on Kalamazoo Speedway visit www.kalamazoospeedway.com.

Be sure to become a fan of Kalamazoo Speedway for all of the latest news and contests at: www.facebook.com/KalamazooSpeedway.

You can also follow Kalamazoo Speedway on our official Twitter page: www.twitter.com/kazoospeedway.

Share this post