“Bubba” Takes Klash-Tune Up Victory After Late Race Battle With Foote

“Bubba” Takes Klash-Tune Up Victory After Late Race Battle With Foote

Mike Brooks - WEBSITE

Mike “Bubba” Brooks picked up the victory in Saturday night’s “Kalamazoo Klash Tune-Up Presented by Applebee’s” for the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Outlaw Super Late Models at Kalamazoo Speedway. AJ Foote, who lost the lead to Brooks on a late restart, finished a solid second ahead of Billy Shannon, Rick Senneker and Marc Casey. Mark Shook returned to the track after a couple of weeks off and finished sixth ahead of Matt Frazier, Brandon Lyons, John Chapman and Brandon Zachary. Foote set quick time for the event with a lap of 12.868 seconds.

The Super Stocks once again put on a great show with Buddy Head narrowly holding off a hard charging Brandon Lyons for the victory. Chris Shannon finished third ahead of Scott Rugg and fast qualifier Kenny Head. The second half of the top ten was led by Kelli Jo Hofacker over Rob Hardy, Jack Cook, Jordan Hunderman and David Guarino. Heat race victories went to Buddy Head and Rugg.

John Foote Jr. emerged victorious after a very competitive thirty lap Pro Stock feature. Former champion Greg Haynes finished second ahead of young Ryan Beadle, Barry Jenkins and Brent Hook. Fast qualifier Budd Hybels finished sixth beating out Zach Westdorp, Ron Landis, John Bassett and Tommy Hamilton. Westdorp and Greg Brown won the heats.

The Mini Stocks saw young Chaz Hook, son of veteran driver Brent Hook, come out on top of their twenty-five lap feature event. Fast qualifier Logan Knight finished second ahead of Jeremy Collins, former champion Frank Stager and Nolan Potter. Shane Clark led the second half of the top ten over point leader Jerime Damron, Brian Echtinaw, Sierra Lantz and Josh Salter. Clark and Collins won the heat races.

Jerry Jansen Jr. worked his way from deep in the field all the way to the front to pick up the victory in the twenty lap Cyber Stock feature.  Brian Gregersen finished second ahead of Kyle Shannon, Doug Nelson and Jerry Jansen III. Drew Maxwell was sixth beating out Bob Miller, Kyle Jansen, Ryan Hufford and Josh Roberts. Cliff Lambert set quick time while the heat race victories went to Miller and Matt Majewski.

Next on the schedule at Kalamazoo Speedway is the biggest show of the year, “Kalamazoo Klash XXII Featuring Kyle Busch Presented by Boyne Machine and Enterprise Iron & Metal”!! With over 40 entries for the Outlaw Super Late Model portion of the event, this promises to be a Klash to remember. The ARCA/CRA Super Series will also be on hand to run a 100 lap, $5,000 to win event. There are 29 cars on the entry list for that event. Action will kick off with practice on Tuesday night from 5:30-8:30. On Wednesday practice starts at 1:00, with qualifying at 3:30, an autograph session at 5:00 and racing at 6:30.

Kalamazoo Speedway plays host to some of the best entertainment events in the state of Michigan, and welcomes corporate groups, family outings, suite rentals, and clean family fun. Call 269-692-2423 Monday through Friday to learn more!

For more information on Kalamazoo Speedway visit www.kalamazoospeedway.com.

Be sure to become a fan of Kalamazoo Speedway for all of the latest news and contests at: www.facebook.com/KalamazooSpeedway.

You can also follow Kalamazoo Speedway on our official Twitter page: www.twitter.com/kazoospeedway.


Share this post