Brooks Thrilling Banzai Move Wins Little Caesars 50 @ the Zoo

Brooks Thrilling Banzai Move Wins Little Caesars 50 @ the Zoo

Kalamazoo Speedway 13_04_06

Mike “Bubba” Brooks took the white flag in the Little Caesars 50 with what appeared to be not much hope of beating fast qualifier and race leader Jeff Ganus back to the checkered flag.  As the duo came to the end of the backstretch and entered the third turn Brooks pulled an amazing banzai move to the bottom to pull even with Ganus and beat Ganus in a drag race back to the start/finish line to claim the victory.  The victory was the second career Outlaw Super Late Model win for Brooks, driving the Leduc Blueberries machine.  Even after having time to reflect on the pass Brooks tweeted (@flyinberry84) on Sunday evening “Still cant believe that pass worked last night #shouldabeenthere #kzoocrew”.  Defending champion Brian Bergakker rebounded from his Intimidator 100 crash with a third place finish ahead of Luke Krick and Mark Shook.  AJ Foote, Billy Shannon, Doug True, Steve Dolphin and Rick Senneker completed the top ten finishers.  Bergakker and Outlaw Super Late Model rookie Matt Frazier won the two heat races.  Ganus retains the point lead by just 19 points over Brooks, who moves all the way up to second in the standings.  Bergakker (-65), Shook (-98) and Shannon (-100) complete the top five heading into this Saturday night’s Cool 101 Shootout.

Defending Super Stock champion Kenny Head reached victory lane for the first time in 2013, beating out 1989 Outlaw Super Late Model champion Chris Orr in a late race duel.  Opening night winner Buddy Head was third ahead of Darren Lane and Jordan Hunderman.  Kelli Jo Hofacker led the second half of the top ten over Rob Hardy, Bryan Noble, Gary Denzel and Ben Beeler.  Notable finishers included Chris Shannon, who finished a disappointing 19th.  Kenny Head set quick time with a lap of 13.772 seconds, while Shannon and former champ Matt Corliss won the heat races.  With the victory Kenny Head takes the point lead over his brother Buddy by just 8 markers.  Hofacker (-50), Orr (-68) and Lane (-72) complete the top five.

Pro Stock point leader Brent Hook appeared to be on his way to his second victory in as many weeks but mechanical failure sent him to a 12th place finish and opened up the door for John Foote, who claimed his first victory of 2013.  Brad VanAvery finished a solid second ahead of Zack Cook, former champion Greg Haynes and Bud Hybels.  Defending champion Lloyd Brooks was sixth ahead of Travis Hall, Greg Brown, Keith Wilfong and Nick DeLongpre.  Toby Montgomery set quick time with a lap of 14.827 but was the first car out of the feature and finished 16th.  With the victory Foote takes the point lead, by virtue of holding the tie-breaker over VanAvery.  Hybels (-10), Hook (-36) and Hall (-36) complete the top five in the standings after two events.

Another very competitive Mini Stock event saw Jerime Damron come out on top, beating Dave Long to the checkered flag.  Dennis Zimmerman, defending champion Frank Stager and young Chaz Hook finished third through fifth.  Sophomore driver Noah Gallandt rebounded from an early spin to finish sixth beating out Rick Gale, Jeremy Collins, Rick Mann Sr. and former Cyber Stock champion Doug Smith.  Notable finishers included Shane Clark, who finished 13th.  Steve Potter was the fastest qualifier while Collins and Damron won the heat races.  Dave Long keeps his point lead by just six points over Damron with Stager (-23), Clark (-51) and Hook (-62) also hot on his heels heading into “Mini Stock Madness Presented by 92.5 the ZUU” this Saturday.

A strong field of Cyber Stocks saw Jack Cook come out on top of the twenty lap main event.  Tyler McGhan again impressed the crowd with a second place finish ahead of Barry Jenkins, Jerry Jansen III and Felicia Meade.  Brian Gregersen finished sixth beating out opening night winner and point leader Walter Nielson IV, Dion Vrooman, Keegan Dykstra and Joel Ritsema.  Jenkins was quick time while Jansen III and Ritsema won the heats.  Jenkins jumps to the top of the point standing ahead of McGhan (-29), Nielson IV (-30), Jansen III (-46) and Vrooman (-51).

The Kalamazoo Speedway is back in action this Saturday night, May 11 with a Full 5 in 1 Show featuring the “Cool 101 Shootout” for the Outlaw Super Late Models.  Jeff Ganus leads the standings but seeks redemption after being passed for the victory in the final corner this week.  Mike “Bubba” Brooks will try to propel momentum into a second consecutive victory and cut into Ganus’s point lead.  2012 NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Outlaw Super Late Model champion Brian Bergakker will look to break into victory lane for the first time in 2013, as will Mark Shook, Billy Shannon and several others.  In addition to the Outlaw’s the Super Stocks and Pro Stocks will be back in action, as will the Mini Stocks, running “Mini Stock Madness Presented by 92.5 the ZUU”.  The always competitive Cyber Stocks will complete the program.  The Michiana Vintage Cars will also be on hand to turn some demonstration laps and take fans down memory lane.  For more information on Kalamazoo Speedway visit


Share this post