Billy Shannon Wins Cool Shirt 50 @ the Zoo

Billy Shannon Wins Cool Shirt 50 @ the Zoo

Billy Shannon made it four different winners in four races for the Kalamazoo Speedway Outlaw Super Late Models Saturday night.  Shannon joined Steve Needles, Brian Bergakker and Tyler Roahrig as drivers that have won thus far in 2012.  Billy held off a hard charging Mark Shook for the victory with fast qualifier Andy Bozell finishing 3rd.  Tom Thomas made his second appearance of the season and finished fourth ahead of Brian Bergakker, Jamison Russell, Doug Rodenhisler, Mike Brooks, Jeff Bozell and Todd Dougherty.  Notable finishers included Trent Hellenga in 11th and Phil Bozell in 14th, his second consecutive finish outside of the top ten.  Rick Senneker and Jeff Bozell won the heats.

Defending Super Stock champion Matt Corliss won another thrilling Super Stock feature holding off point leader Kenny Head.  Cory Kruzel and Chris Shannon crashed across the finish line but still collected 3rd and 4th place finishes respectively.  Rounding out the top ten were Rick VanHouten, Ryan Wheeler, Brandon Lyons, Darren Lane, Kelli Jo Hofacker and Lindsey Katz.  Chris Shannon set quick time while Kruzel and Jordan Hunderman won the heats.

Billy Bussema continued his hot streak with a win in Mini Stock Madness presented by Little Caesars.  Bussema held off Ben McCallum, point leader Frank Stager, Andrew Brest and Robert Mason for the victory.  Notables included George Watts in 6th and Noah Gallandt in 9th.  Stager set quick time.

Ron Landis picked up the win in the Pro Stock feature ahead of Tyler Hufford, Brent Hook, Keith Wilfong and former champion Greg Haynes.  Point leader Lloyd Brooks was the fastest qualifier but did not go to victory lane for the first time in 2012, finishing 10th.  Brooks and Jim Wheaton won the heats.

Point leader Jerry Jansen Jr. collected the victory in the Cyber Stock division holding off fast qualifier Dale Leonard.  Maggie Zwart, Keith Smith and Barry Jenkins completed the top five finishers.  Notable finishers included Wayne Stack in 12th and Logan Knight in 14th.  Adam Bistodeau, Jerry Jansen Jr. and Smith won the heats while Anna Haynes won the ‘B’ Feature.

Action continues at Kalamazoo Speedway today, Sunday, May 27 with the running of the Veterans 200 for the Belle Tire Enduro Series.  The night will also see the fan favorite Spectator Drags as well as the first Powder Puff race of the season for the female competitors.  Finally the night will conclude with FIREWORKS presented by LKQ.

Then next Saturday it is one of the biggest events on the calendar as the Auto Value Bumper to Bumper Winged Super Sprint Series makes its return to the Zoo!  If that isn’t enough to get you excited we will throw in Outlaw Super Late Models running for 50 laps in the Gun Lake Casino 50.  The Pro Stocks will also be in action, as will the Cyber Stocks with the running of Cyber Mania presented by Weller Auto Parts.  This promises to be an action packed evening.

For more information on Kalamazoo Speedway visit

Share this post