Bergakker Wins WWMT 50 @ the Zoo

Bergakker Wins WWMT 50 @ the Zoo

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Kalamazoo Speedway 13_04_06

Brian Bergakker became the third different winner in the first three NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Outlaw Super Late Model events of the 2013 season by winning the WWMT 50 Presented by Cool 101 on Saturday night at Kalamazoo Speedway.  Bergakker started deep in the field and held off Jeff Ganus on a late race restart to pick up the victory.  Ganus continued his incredible run of consistency with a second place finish ahead of AJ Foote, fast qualifier Mike “Bubba” Brooks and Billy Shannon.  Dave Lober made his first appearance of the season and finished sixth ahead of Matt Frazier, Rick Senneker, Marty Crawford and Ben Raber.  Notable finishers included Mark Shook, who finished 12th.  Bergakker and Chuck Greer won the heat races.

The Super Stock race saw a thrilling battle for the victory with Send Out Cards driver Ben Beeler emerging victorious.  Beeler passed Rob Hardy late in the event and held on for the win.  Hardy finished second ahead of young Tyler Hufford, Ryan Wheeler and Darren Lane.  Justin Dinzik was sixth ahead of Buddy Head, Lindsey Katz, Chris Shannon and Rich Hardy.  Several of the championship contenders had disappointing evenings including Kelli Jo Hofacker in 12th, Chris Orr in 17th and fast qualifier Kenny Head in 18th.  Hufford and Larry Hollenbeck picked up the heat race victories.

Veteran driver Brent Hook held off a hard charging John Foote to capture the Pro Stock victory.  Toby Montgomery had a solid third place outing ahead of Brad VanAvery and fast qualifier Lloyd Brooks.  Bud Hybels finished sixth beating out former champion Greg Haynes, Zack Cook, Travis Hall and Jerry Pierman.  Hook and Cook were the heat race winners.

The Mini Stocks ran a 25 lap event called “Mini Stock Madness Presented by 92.5 the ZUU”.  For the second time this season Jerime Damron ended the night in victory lane.  Damron held off Shane Clark, Dave Long, fast qualifier Chaz Hook and Steve Potter for the victory.  Jeremy Collins led the second half of the top ten over Dennis Zimmerman, former Cyber Stock champion Doug Smith, Rick Gale and Matt Gross.  Defending champion Frank Stager broke in practice and was unable to compete in the night’s events.

The Cyber Stocks also ran a 25 lap feature called the “Cyber Stock Goat Roper 25 Presented by VanGuard Fire & Security Systems”.  Barry Jenkins came out victorious in a great battle with Jack Cook.  Keegan Dykstra finished an impressive third ahead of Felicia Meade and Walter Nielson IV.  Brian Gregersen finished sixth ahead of fast qualifier Jerry Jansen Jr., Dion Vrooman, Tyler McGhan and Walter Nielson III.  Notable finishers included Jerry Jansen III, who finished 16th.

Next up is the first double header weekend of the 2013 Kalamazoo Speedway season.  On Saturday night all five divisions will be in action.  The NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Outlaw Super Late Models will take center stage with the running of the Weller Auto Parts 75, paying $1,500 to the winner.  Kalamazoo Speedway regulars Jeff Ganus, Mike “Bubba” Brooks, Brian Bergakker, Mark Shook, Billy Shannon and more will try to hold off outside challengers for this big event, including Intimidator 100 winner Steve Needles.  The Super Stocks, Pro Stocks and Mini Stocks will also be on hand with the “Mini Stock 25-Magnum Presented by Titan Equipment” serving as the second consecutive special event for the Mini Stocks.  The always exciting Cyber Stock division will complete the program.

Then on Sunday will be the first event of the Kalamazoo Speedway Enduro Series with the running of the Veterans 200 Presented by Allstar Performance.  In addition to the Enduro there will also be Spectator Drags, a Powder Puff Event and Fireworks! 

For more information on Kalamazoo Speedway visit

Share this post