Andy Bozell Wins Call of the Wild @ the Zoo

(Kalamazoo, MI) The Kalamazoo Speedway held the annual Call of the Wild on Saturday featuring the exotic creations of the local racing community. This event has become a staple of the speedway schedule since it was introduced to challenge Randy Sweet’s all time track and world record lap. The event features sprint car wings, side boards, and whatever creations the drivers can come up with to satisfy their need for speed.

The Outlaw FWD’s saw twenty-three cars hit the property with Todd Metz, Jr. setting fast time with a lap of 15.045. The twenty lap feature saw fast qualifier Metz, Jr. take the checkered flag over Todd Metz, Sr., Jason Devos, Kyle Brigance, Doug Smith, Ira Hoswer, Travis Ulberg, John Gonzales, Ryan Osborne, and Dion Vrooman rounding out the top ten.

The Outlaw Mini Stocks saw veteran racer Billy Shannon set fast time with a blistering 14.074 besting the field. The twenty lap feature saw a delay about midway through with many time feature winner Bill Bussema blowing a motor oiling down the track in turns three and four. After the delay Shannon took command of the race picking up the win over Shane Clark, Frank Stager, George Watts, and Thomas Nimmo rounding out the top five cars.

The Call of the Wild D feature was the first feature event for the V-8’s cars which was a twenty lap main event. The race saw lots of beating and banging when the dust settled Kalamazoo Speedway regular Danny Oxford took the win over Terry Hard, Kenny Henderson, Scott Gary, Jr., John Culp, Bryan Noble, Jerry Pierman, Jr., Marty Lunger, Steve Roden, Jr., and Steve Fobralski rounding out the top ten. The Call of the Wild C Feature event was twenty-five laps saw John Foote, Jr. take the checkered flag race over Jordan Hunderman, Ron Hughson, Jesse VanAvery, Rodney Smith, Dan Dykstra, Matt Bainbridge, Mickey Cornwell, Drew Ritter, and Dave Elliott rounding out the top ten.

The Call of the Wild B feature was set for thirty-five laps featuring some fast hot rods that just missed the A main. Chris Shannon took command of the feature picking up the win over Steven Dolphin, Zach Henderson, Rick McMullen, Matt Elsey, Tom Wright, Jim Sternaman, Justin Oberlin, Tim Rugg, and Zack Cook rounding out the top ten. The Call of the Wild A feature was set for fifty laps to see who has the fastest car on the property. Andy Bozell cruised to the victory by lapping the field being followed by Chuck Greer, Tyler Hufford, Robby Henderson, Greg Parr, Jeff Bozell, Kelli Jo Hofacker, Todd Dougherty, Marc Casey, and Larry Hollenbeck rounding out the top ten.

The Kalamazoo Speedway will be back in action on September 28th, 29th, and 30th for the Super Shoe Nationals. The property will be packed with over three-hundred cars and thousands of campers. Please visit our website at for all of your camping information.


Speak Your Mind



Saturday - April 11 - Pre-Season Testing Learn more