AJ Foote Becomes the Fifth Outlaw Super Late Model Feature Winner Before Memorial Day

AJ Foote Becomes the Fifth Outlaw Super Late Model Feature Winner Before Memorial Day


The Outlaw Super Late Model division at Kalamazoo Speedway has now seen five different winners in the first six races after AJ Foote won the “Lane 75” Saturday night. Foote set quick time earlier in the evening and started the feature from the 13th position. He diligently worked his way through traffic and once he took the top spot he never relinquished it holding off Todd Harrington, Robbie Ferrier, Luke Krick and Jamison Russell to pick up the victory. John Chapman led the second half of the top ten over Marc Casey, Dan Roodvoets, Rick Senneker and Chuck Greer. Point leader Mike Brooks was involved in an accident and finished a disappointing 16th. The finish cut Brooks point lead to just 27 over Chapman with Foote (-40), Harrington (-69) and Krick (-70) rounding out the top five.

A thrilling Super Stock feature saw Buddy Head hold off his brother Kenny after the two made contact in the final corner. Scott Rugg finished third ahead of Brandon Lyons and Rob Hardy. Austin Maynard picked up a sixth place finish beating out Jack Cook, James Roden, Chris Shannon and Patrick Kirkendall. Buddy Head also set quick time and won his heat race while Rugg picked up the win in the other heat. Buddy now leads his brother by 57 points in the championship standings with Rugg (-139) and Shannon (-153) also within striking distance.

Toby Montgomery set quick time, started last and won the thirty lap Pro Stock feature holding off John Foote Jr. over the closing laps for the victory. Veteran Brent Hook finished third ahead of Brad VanAvery and heat race winner Zach Westdorp. The winner of the other heat, Barry Jenkins, led the second five ahead of Budd Hybels, Keith Wilfong, Greg Brown and Terry Hard. Montgomery now leads Foote Jr. by just 32 points with Hook sitting in third just 43 points out of the lead.

Jerime Damron put on a driving clinic in the Mini Stock race to pick up the feature victory over former champion Frank Stager. Former Cyber Stock champion Keith Dunham finished third ahead of last weeks winner Chuck Greer and young Chaz Hook. The second half of the top ten was led by Billy Bussema over Shane Clark, Sierra Lantz, Jeff Presock and Logan Knight. Notable finishers included Noah Gallandt who finished 14th. Greer set quick time for the evening while Clark and Dunham collected the heat victories. Seven Mini Stock drivers sit within just 151 points of each other with Damron leading Dunham by just 46 markers. Greer (-78) sits third ahead of Bussema (-103), Clark (-132), Gallandt (-145) and Stager (-151).

Jerry Jansen Jr. emerged victorious in the Cyber Stock feature holding off Josh Roberts, Brian Gregersen, Keegan Dykstra and Doug Nelson for the victory. Curtis “Tiger” Towne finished sixth beating out Ryan Hufford, TC Burgess, Drew Maxwell and Ryan Burd. Notable finishers included Cliff Lambert who finished 16th. Jansen Jr. also set quick time while Lambert and Nelson won the heat races. Jansen Jr. now holds a 90 point lead over Dykstra in the battle for the championship.

Racing action continues today, the 25th of May, with the Veterans 200 Enduro Presented by Steensma. This event kicks off the 2014 Enduro season and promises to be an action packed event. Also on hand will be the Vores Compact Touring Series making their first visit to the Zoo. There will also be a Powder Puff race and the evening will wrap up with Fireworks!

Next Saturday, May 31st NASCAR Whelen All American Series action returns to the Zoo with a SIX in one show featuring the “Little Caesars 50” for the Outlaw Super Late Models. The Super Stocks and Pro Stocks will also be in action with the Super Stocks running for $750 to win. Also on the card will be the USAC HPD Midget series. The Mini Stocks will run for $400 to win while Cyber Stocks will complete the program.

For more information on Kalamazoo Speedway visit www.kalamazoospeedway.com.

Be sure to become a fan of Kalamazoo Speedway for all of the latest news and contests at: www.facebook.com/KalamazooSpeedway.

You can also follow Kalamazoo Speedway on our official Twitter page: www.twitter.com/kazoospeedway.

Share this post