Terry Senneker Wins Kalamazoo Klash XX

Terry Senneker Wins Kalamazoo Klash XX

(Kalamazoo, MI) The Kalamazoo Speedway held the annual Kalamazoo Klash presented by Boyne Machine & Lane Automotive that was started twenty years ago by the Jones Family. The event was born to put the Kalamazoo Speedway on the map as one of the best short tracks in the Midwest. The race has seen NASCAR stars such Matt Kenseth, Johnny Benson, Kenny Schrader, Adam Petty, and David Stremme over the twenty year history. The mega short track event has also seen drivers such Scott Bloomquist, Ross Kenseth, and many other young short track stars and veterans.

The Coors Light Super Late Models joined the show for the second year in a row sporting twenty-one cars in the pit area. The quickest lap was turned by long time racing veteran Brian Campbell with a lap of 12.659 being followed by Johnny VanDoorn, Tim Devos, Tom Thomas, and Alec Carll rounding out the five fastest cars on the property. The 100 lap Coors Light Super Late Model feature saw VanDoorn and Campbell battle it out for the first 30 laps which saw the fast qualifier Campbell take the lead over VanDoorn. Campbell took control over the race lead until lap 95 when Campbell and VanDoorn got together causing Campbell to retire to the pit area. In the final laps on the restart you future NASACAR star Ross Kenseth took lead over VanDoorn and took the checkered flag. In the a post-race inspection Kenseth was DQ when the Coors Light Late Models Series found the Kenseth had too much left side weight. That gave the win to VanDoorn followed by Carll, Devos, Chris Koslek, Jordan Dahlke, Thomas, John Long, Josh Hobson, Tim Greene, and Jay Niewiek rounding out the top ten,

The Outlaw Super Late Models saw twenty-three cars join the show battling it out for the $7,500 to win pay day. The Boyne Machine and Nash Outlets fast time award went Tyler Roahrig with a blistering lap of 12.145 being followed by Terry Senneker, Andy Bozell, JR Roahrig, and Brian Bergakker was rounding out the top five.  The Lane Automotive and Sweet Manufacturing 150 lap feature saw young Jamison Russell take the lead before being over taken by Phil Bozell. Bozell held on to the lead until fast qualifier Roahrig took command of the lead, but was over taken by Senneker in the closing laps of the first segment. Senneker took command of the second segment winning his second Klash over Roahrig, Tom Thomas, Andy Bozell, Bergakker, Phil Bozell, Steve Needles, Mark Shook, JR Roahrig, and Ross Kenseth rounding out the top ten. Tom Thomas won the Sweet Mfg. double duty bonus with the highest finishing racer in both features paying $1000. Terry Senneker, Jr.  picked up the Russell Automotive $200 first segment bonus.

The Kalamazoo Speedway will be back in action this weekend as the kids will take stage over on the Quarter Midget track for the USAC and MOPAR weekend. The USAC Midgets will be on the track big track with the Ford Focus Midgets, and MCR Dwarf cars racing at 7:00PM with a $10 car load night. Please visit www.KalamazooSpeedway.com for all the upcoming information on the rest of the 2012 season.

Share this post