Stager Claims First Title

Stager Claims First Title

(Kalamazoo, MI) The Kalamazoo Speedway hosted the annual autograph night with 101 cars packing the fastest 3/8 mile track in the world. The Outlaw Late Models, Super Stocks, Pro Stocks, Mini Stocks, and Cyber Stocks rounded out the full racing program. The presenting sponsors of the evening Scotts Card, Renegade Fuels, and Send Out Cards were all posting extra money and products to our racers.

The Cyber Stocks packed the pit area with thirty-one cars with Jack Cook setting fast time with a lap of 16.613 seconds. The three heat race wins went to Ryan Beadle, Anna Haynes, and Maggie Zwart taking the checkered flags. The fifteen lap B feature went to Travis Krum collecting the six foot tall trophy presented by Send Out Cards to all of our feature winners being followed by Kyle Shannon, JC Russell, Haynes, and Jeff Denbraber rounding out the top five. The twenty lap A feature saw Cook collect the win over Nick DeLongpre, Jerry Jansen, Jr., Wayne Stack, Barry Jenkins, Brian Gregersen, Zwart, Dale Leonard, Walter Nielson, and Jason Ratashak rounding out the top ten.

The Mini Stock class stepped it up with sixteen hotrods with Billy Bussema setting fast time with a lap of 15.067 seconds. The two heat races went to Frank Stager and Chuck Greer picking up the checkered flags. The twenty lap feature saw Greer picking up his first ever Kalamazoo Speedway feature win being followed by Stager, Jeremy Collins, Bussema, Chaz Hook, Doug Smith, Matt Gross, Rick Gale, Noah Gallandt, and Ryan Vist rounding out the top ten. The Mini Stock track championship was collected by Frank Stager by winning his first ever title at the speedway.

The Pro Stocks packed the pit area with seventeen cars with Llyod Brooks setting fast time with a lap of 14.727 seconds. The heat races were picked up by Brent Hook and Tyler Hufford taking the wins. The thirty lap main event was won by Hook picking up his second feature win over Travis Hall, Hufford, Zack Cook, Greg Haynes, Keith Wilfong, Mike “Bubba” Brooks, Bryan Noble, Bob Metheny, and Kevin England rounding out the top ten cars on the speedway.

Renegade Racing Fuels presented the “Super Stock Spectacular” paying  $750 to the feature winner. The Super Stocks had nineteen cars with “Mr. Smooth” Kenny Head setting fast time with a lap of 13.605 seconds. The fifty lap main event saw Head pick up his fourth feature win of the year being followed by Lindsey Katz, Brandon Lyons, Rick VanHouten, Ryan Wheeler, Kelli Jo Hofacker, Matt Corliss, Chris Orr, Buddy Head, and Jordan Hunderman rounding out the top ten.

The Outlaw Late Models saw Brian Bergakker best the field of eighteen late models by setting fast time with a lap of 12.580 seconds. The two heat races saw Rick Senneker and Randy Chupp collect the checkered flags. The feature saw Bergakker saw pad his points lead collecting the feature win over Phil Bozell, Andy Bozell, Billy Shannon, Mark Shook, Mike Brooks, Dave Sensiba, Doug Roadanhisler, Jeff Bozell, and Chuck Greer rounding out the top ten.

The Kalamazoo Speedway will be back in action next weekend with a double header with season championship night on Saturday night and the Belle Tire Enduro on Sunday. Please visit our website at for all of the upcoming information. The season is winding down, but the action is picking up with all the season ending specials at the zoo.


Share this post