Shook Victorious in Texas Corral 50

Shook Victorious in Texas Corral 50

Kalamazoo Speedway 13_04_06

Mark Shook held off an extremely hard charging Jeff Ganus to win the Texas Corral 50 Saturday night at Kalamazoo Speedway.  The victory was the first career Outlaw Super Late Model feature for Shook, as he became the fourth winner in five races this season.  Ganus held on to finish second ahead of Mike “Bubba” Brooks, who regained the point lead.  Todd Currier had an impressive fourth place finish ahead of Luke Krick, who did not run a single lap of practice during the afternoon.  Billy Shannon led the second half of the top ten over Todd Harrington, Brandon Lyons, Rick Sennker and Matt Bainbridge.  Notable finishers included AJ Foote in 11th and point leader Brian Bergakker, who was involved in an accident and finished a disappointing 17th.  Bergakker did manage to set quick time earlier in the evening.  Currier and Chuck Greer won the heat races.  Brooks heads into June 22nd’s “Ridge/NAPA Auto Parts 50” with an 18 point advantage over Ganus.  Bergakker’s accident drops him to third in the standings, but he is still only 44 points out of the lead.  Shannon (-102), Shook (-132) and Krick (-151) also remain within striking distance of the point lead.

Just four nights before their biggest event of the season the Super Stocks ran the Super Stock Klash Tune-Up Presented by Renegade.  Chris Shannon held off point leader Buddy Head in a late race duel to pick up his first victory of the season.  Ryan Wheeler finished third ahead of Kelli Jo Hofacker and Kenny Head.  Scott Rugg made his first appearance of the season and finished a solid sixth ahead of Tom Rutherford, Matt Frazier, Tyler Hufford and Rob Hardy.  Notable finishers included Jordan Hunderman in 20th and Darren Lane in 21st.  Buddy Head set quick time and won his heat race.  Wheeler won the other heat.  Buddy Head’s almost perfect night helped him to extend his point lead to 40 points over his brother and defending champion Kenny Head.  Kelli Jo Hofacker (-106) and Chris Shannon (-122) remain in striking distance also and look to break up the Head brothers at the top of the standings.  Next up for the Super Stocks is the $3,000 to win Super Stock Klash Presented by Boyne Machine and Enterprise Iron & Metal this Wednesday, June 12.

The Pro Stock Cash Bash Presented by Best Way Disposal saw another fantastic battle with defending champion Lloyd Brooks emerging victorious over point leader Brad VanAvery.  John Foote finished a solid third ahead of Brent Hook and Zack Cook.  Travis Hall finished sixth beating out former champion Greg Haynes, Mark Fliearman, Bud Hybels and Nick DeLongpre.  Notable finishers included fast qualifier Toby Montgomery in 15th and Jerry Pierman in 18th.  Montgomery and Hook won the heats.  VanAvery now leads the standings by 52 points over Foote while Brent Hook is third, just 66 points out of the lead.  Hybels (-75), Montgomery (-81), Brooks (-146) and Hall (-155) all still have championship hopes still very much alive.  The Pro Stocks biggest event of the season takes place this Wednesday also, with the running of the Pro Stock Bash.

Dave Long picked up another Mini Stock feature win holding off Jerime Damron, who drove a Greg Haynes owned car to the second finishing position.  Jeremy Collins was third ahead of Shane Clark and Donnie Brest.  Defending champion Frank Stager finished 6th beating out Billy Bussema, Dennis Zimmerman, Rick Mann Sr. and Brian Echtinaw.  Notable finishers included Chaz Hook in 12th.  Brest set quick time while Damron and Stager won the heats.  The point battler remains extremely close with Long holding a slim 11 point lead over Damron.  Shane Clark (-68) is third ahead of Hook (-128) and Collins (-134).  Mini Stock will return on Saturday, June 22nd with the running of “Mini Stock Mayhem presented by Little Caesars”.

The Cyber Stock feature saw Brian Gregersen emerge victorious over defending champion Jerry Jansen Jr.  Point leader Barry Jenkins finished third ahead of Jack Cook and Walter Nielson IV.  Former champion Dale Leonard was sixth beating out Matt Majewski, Felicia Meade, Keegan Dykstra and Allie Hufford.  Notable finishers included Tyler McGhan in 12th and Jerry Jansen II in 13th.  Jenkins set quick time while Jansen III and Brandon Hoffman won the heat races.  Jenkins continues to lead the standings, now by 68 points over Cook.  Nielson IV (-78), McGhan (-130) and Jansen III (-140) round out the top five.  The Cyber Stocks return to action on June 22nd.

Next on the Kalamazoo Speedway schedule is the first mid-week special of the season with the running of the Super Stock Klash Presented by Boyne Machine, Enterprise Iron & Metal and Lane Automotive coming up this Wednesday, June 12.  The Super Stocks will go 100 laps for $3,000 to win in their biggest event of the season.  The Pro Stocks will also run their biggest event of the year with the 50 lap Pro Stock Bash Presented by Shifters.  For more information on this event and all things Kalamazoo Speedway visit


Share this post