Rick Senneker Wins Thrilling Sun Drop 50

Rick Senneker Wins Thrilling Sun Drop 50

Rick Senneker

One week removed from a terrible accident, Rick Senneker retuned to Kalamazoo Speedway Saturday night and pulled off the victory in the “Sun Drop 50” for the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Outlaw Super Late Models.  Senneker’s win did not come easily as he held off late challenges from eventual second and third place finishers Jeff Ganus and Brian Bergakker.  Billy Shannon finished a solid fourth ahead of point leader Mike “Bubba” Brooks, who made an early pit stop and recovered to finish fifth.  Todd Harrington led the second half of the top ten over last week’s winner Luke Krick, Marc Casey, Tim Rugg and rookie Matt Frazier.  Bergakker set quick time while Andy Bozell and Shannon won the heats.  Next up for the Outlaw Super Lates is this Saturday’s “Hoosier Hustle”, which will be a 75 lap event paying $1,500 to the winner.

The battle for the Super Stock championship continued with Kenny Head picking up the feature win over his brother and championship rival Buddy Head.  Kelli Jo Hofacker finished third ahead of former track champions Matt Corliss and Chris Orr.  Chris Shannon finished a solid sixth beating out Cory Kruzel, TK Whitman, James Roden and Darren Lane.  Buddy Head set quick time and won his heat while Corliss won the other heat race.

Veteran driver Brent Hook brought home the victory in the twenty five lap Pro Stock feature.  Ashley Markillie finished a solid second over John Foote, Toby Montgomery and defending champion Lloyd Brooks.  The second half of the top ten was led by Zack Cook over Greg Brown, Bud Hybels, John Foote Sr. and fast qualifier Brad VanAvery.  Hook and Brooks won the two heats races.

The Mini Stock Momba-25 Presented by 7UP saw point leader Dave Long come out on top over fast qualifier Chaz Hook.  Jerime Damron had another impressive run to finish third ahead of Billy Bussema and Noah Gallandt.  Shane Clark led the second half of the top ten over Mike McKee, former Cyber Stock champion Doug Smith, Logan Knight and Rick Mann Sr.

The Cyber Stock feature saw fast qualifier Jack Cook emerge victorious over youngster Keegan Dykstra, Barry Jenkins, Matt Majewski and Walter Nielson III.  Felecia Meade finished sixth beating out Dion Vrooman, Walter Nielson IV, Brian Gregersen and Joel Ritsema.  Notable finishers included Jerry Jansen III, who finished a disappointing 15th.  Tyler McGhan and Ritsema won the heat races.

This Saturday night the Auto Value Bumper to Bumper Super Sprint Series comes to town, with racing legend Randy Sweet making the final start of his illustrious career.  In addition to the winged warriors the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Outlaw Super Late Models will be running for 75 laps and $1,500 to win in the “Hoosier Hustle”.  Mike “Bubba” Brooks, Brian Bergakker and Jeff Ganus will continue to battle it out for the 2013 championship crown.  The Super Stocks will complete the program on what promises to be an action packed night of racing at the Zoo.

For more information on Kalamazoo Speedway visit www.kalamazoospeedway.com.

Share this post