Phil Bozell Wins As All-Star Starting Field Becomes Clearer

Phil Bozell Wins As All-Star Starting Field Becomes Clearer

Phil Bozell drove past his father Andy Bozell and held on to win the Outlaw Super Late Model feature Saturday night at Kalamazoo Speedway.  Tom Thomas set quick time and finished a strong third ahead of Trent Hellenga and Billy Shannon.  Todd Dougherty used his 6th place finish to lock him into next Sunday’s All-Star Shootout.  John Chapman finished 7th ahead of Brandon Lyons, Dan Roodvoets and Rick Sexton.  Dougherty and Andy Bozell won the heats.  The starting field for next Sunday’s All-Star Shootout currently looks like this:

1      8-Phil Bozell (Intimidator 100 Winner)
2      72-Scott Hantz (Intimidator 100 2nd Place)
3      83-Andy Bozell (Intimidator 100 3rd Place)
4      82-Tom Thomas (April 30 Winner)
5      25-JR Roahrig (Lane 75 3rd Place)
6      49-John Chapman (4th in Points)
7      14-Trent Hellenga (5th in Points)
8      57-Rick Senneker (6th in Points)
9      9-Rick Sexton (7th in Points)
10   14-Mark Shook (8th in Points)
11   16-Billy Shannon (9th in Points)
12   64-Todd Dougherty (10th in Points)
13   21-Brandon Lyons (11th in Points)
14   All-Star Last Chance Segment #1 Winner
15   All-Star Last Chance Segment #2 Winner
16   Lane Roll Off Winner

Notable drivers expected the run the All-Star Shootout Last Chance include Todd Harrington, Randy Day, Bill Tomlinson, Adam VanAvery and Jeff Ganus. 

Ben Raber made it three in a row in the Modified feature holding off Mike “Bubba” Brooks in a near photo finish.  Ryan Wheeler finished 3rd ahead of point leader Matt Bainbridge and heat race winner Tom McGhee.  Chris May, Clay DePlanche, Brent Hook, AJ Foote and Matt Frazier finished sixth through tenth.  Raber also set quick time.

Matt Frazier picked up the win in the Super Stock division, holding off Chris Shannon at the finish.  Matt Corliss finished a solid third ahead of Buddy Head who drove a badly damaged machine to a fourth place finish.  Rick VanHouten was fifth ahead of Kenny Head, Darren Lane, quick timer Brandon Lyons, Jamison Russell and point leader Eric McGlothlen.  Notable finishers included Jake Hopwood in 15th.  Justin Hopwood and Buddy Head won the heats.

Scott Elsey won a hard fought Pro Stock feature.  Tim Bullis finished second ahead of Tyler Hufford, Keith Wilfong and James Wheaton.  Ron Landis, Bob Metheny, Ashley Markillie, Daton Wright and Rob Welch completed the top ten.  Notable finishers included Toby Montgomery in 14th and quick timer Lloyd Brooks in 18th.   Brooks and Metheny won the heats.

Nick Layman won Cyber Mania in a hard fought battle over Jerry Jansen Jr.  Cliff Lambert finished third ahead of point leader Doug Smith, Dan DenBraber, Lauryn Rousseau, Bryce Smith, Bob Miller, quick timer Bryen Pion and Nick Delongpre.  Notables included Jerry Jansen III in 19th

Next up is one of the biggest weekends in Kalamazoo Speedway history, as it is All-Star Weekend @ the Zoo!  First on Saturday the Late Model drivers not locked into the All-Star race will have one final chance at one of the three remaining positions in the field.  Also the drivers locked in will have two qualifying races to set the starting lineup for Sunday’s big show.  The Modifieds, Super Stocks, Pro Stocks and Cyber Stocks will complete the full show on Saturday. 

Then on Sunday the action will kick off with the All-Star Shootout for the 16 best Outlaw Super Late Model drivers anywhere.  Then the Belle Tire Enduro Series will take to the track with the Belle Tire Stars & Stripes 200.  Finally the event will conclude with the largest Fireworks display in the state of Michigan!!  The rain date for Sunday’s show will be Monday, July 4.

Share this post