Harrington Becomes First Two-Time Winner @ the Zoo

Harrington Becomes First Two-Time Winner @ the Zoo

It took eight races but someone finally won two Outlaw Super Late Model events at Kalamazoo Speedway in 2012.  Todd Harrington held off Rick Senneker as the two raced through lapped traffic in the closing laps to win for the second race in a row.  Senneker held on to finish second, over Phil Bozell who charged through the field from his 10th starting position to finish third.  Phil’s uncles Jeff Bozell finished fourth ahead of Mark Shook and Brian Bergakker, who gained more valuable points in the championship battle.  Trent Hellenga finished seventh ahead of point leader Andy Bozell, Billy Shannon and Luke Krick.  Bergakker set quick time while Dave Sensiba and Doug Rodenhisler won the heats.

The Super Stocks went fifty laps with veteran driver and former Outlaw Super Late Model champion Chris Orr picking up the victory in a hard fought battle with Rick VanHouten.  Matt Corliss had another strong run to finish third ahead of Brandon Lyons and Chris Shannon, who both gained valuable points in the championship battle.  Buddy Head made his return to the Zoo with a sixth place finish beating Darren Lane, Jake Hopwood, Jordan Hunderman and Tom Rutherford.  Point leader Kenney Head encountered several problems and finished 16th.  Lyons set quick time while VanHouten and Orr won the heat races.

Mini Stock point leader Frank Stager set quick time, started last and drove through the entire field to pick up the win in the Mini Stock feature over Robert Mason.  Cyber Stock champion Doug Smith finished 3rd over Andrew Brest and Larry Fullbright.  Tim Towne was sixth over Rick Vancleave, Matt Gross, Ryan Vist and James Blakely.  Smith and Mason won the two heat races.

The Cyber Stock feature saw Jerry Jansen Jr. come out victorious over Maggie Zwart.  Wayne Stack finished third ahead of Logan Knight and Nick deLongpre.  Jerry Jansen III finished sixth beating out point leader Dale Leonard, Felicia Meade, Barry Jenkins and Jack Cook.  Cliff Lambert set quick time while the heats went to Doug Nelson, Leonard and Jansen Jr.  Travis Krum won the ‘B’ Feature.

Next on the Kalamazoo Speedway schedule is the Belle Tire Stars & Stripes Enduro, this Tuesday, July 3rd.  This will be a $5,000 to win R-oval event, which will be run on a combination between the high banks of the Zoo and the infield.  After the event will be the largest fireworks display in the Midwest!  For more information on Kalamazoo Speedway visit www.kalamazoospeedway.com.

Share this post