Cook BBQ’S the Field

Cook BBQ’S the Field

(Kalamazoo, MI) The Kalamazoo Speedway was packed with 112 race cars tuning up for the summer classic the 20th Annual Kalamazoo Klash. Harding’s Friendly Markets of Southwest Michigan sponsored the 75 Lap Klash Tune-Up in memory of Thomas Harding. Thomas has been a long time sponsor of drivers of the Kalamazoo Speedway and of the track itself.

The Cyber Stocks packed a season high thirty-two cars in the pit area with Jack Cook setting fast time with a lap of 16.456. The three heat race winners were DJ Oxford, Felicia Mead, and Mark Campbell. The 15 lap B feature saw twelve  cars take the green flag with Oxford getting out to a commanding lead and picking up his first career feature win over Curtis Towne, Tyler Hufford, Liz Smith, Jim Beers, Daelynn Post, Kyle Shannon, and JC Russell rounding out the top eight cars.  The twenty lap Cyber Stock A main saw Jack Cook charge through the field picking up his third feature win of the season being followed by Barry Jenkins, Jerry Jensen, Jr., Mark Campbell, Jason Ratashak, Maggie Zwart, Nick DeLongpre, Brain Gregersen, Cliff Lambert, and Walter Neilson rounding out the top ten cars.

The Mini Stocks came in full force packing the pits with fifteen cars with Frank Stager setting fast time with a lap of 15.013. The two Mini Stock heat races saw Donnie Brest and Billy Bussema collect the wins.  The twenty lap feature win saw Shane Clark pick up his first ever Kalamazoo Speedway feature win over Bobbie Blount, Brest, Doug Smith, Noah Gallandt, Joe Gonzales, Rick Gale, Matt Gross, Rick VanCleave, and Frank Stager rounding out the top ten.

The Super Stocks saw twenty-two cars strong with Kenny Head setting fast time with a lap 13.394. The two heat races saw Matt Corliss and Ryan Wheeler pick up the wins. The thirty-five lap feature saw Kenny Head pick up his second feature win in a row over Buddy Head, Wheeler, Chris Orr, Brandon Lyons, Matt Frazier, Kelli Jo Hofacker, Jordan Hunderman, Lindsey Katz, and Chris Shannon rounding out the top ten in the feature.

Llyod Brooks set fast time with a 14.506 besting the season high of twenty-one cars in the Pro Stocks. The thirty lap Pro Stock Hustle feature event paid a season high $650 to win bring out the best drivers from around the state of Michigan and Indiana battling it out on the high banks. The feature saw youngest Zack Cook hold off some of the best Pro Stock drivers in the Midwest picking up his first ever A feature win over Tyler Hufford, Bob Metheny, Brent Hook, Brooks, Travis Hall, Greg Haynes, Tollie Witchtman, Randy Simmons, and Danny Oxford rounding out the top ten.

The Outlaw Late Models saw twenty-four cars enter the pit area with Jeff Ganus setting fast time with a lap of 12.312 seconds. The “Thomas Harding” Memorial honoring one the most dedicated sponsors in short track racing was the final event of the evening. Jeff Ganus picked up his second feature win of the year being followed by Steve Needles, Brain Bergakker, Todd Harrington, Jeff Bozell, Mark Shook, Randy Chupp, Billy Shannon, Mike Brooks, and Luke Krick rounding out the top ten.

The Kalamazoo Speedway will return to action this Wednesday night feature the biggest asphalt short track race in the Midwest the Kalamazoo Klash XX. The track will be open for practice from 5pm-9pm on Tuesday night featuring free grand stands. The Klash will start at 7:00PM sharp featuring the Outlaw Super Late Models and Template Super Late Models for just a $20 bill to get you in the gate for adult general admission, teens 10-15 just $15, and 9 and under $5. Please visit the Kalamazoo Speedway website at for all of the upcoming information on the Kalamazoo Klash XX.

Share this post