Champions Crown Mother Nature

Champions Crown Mother Nature

(Kalamazoo, MI) The Kalamazoo Speedway hosted its annual season championship event though Mother Nature put up a great fight. With close points battle in four of the five classes the management of the speedway wasn’t going to give in to her for the second consecutive season. Frank Stager claimed the Mini Stocks title the week before, but the Outlaw Late Models, Super Stocks, Pro Stocks, and Cyber Stocks were yet to be determined.

The Cyber Stocks were the first division to decide their championship for the evening with their features. The line ups were set by points with qualifying being wiped out by the rain. The Cyber Stock B feature saw a familiar face take the checked as former factory stock driver borrowed a car as Lee Misak took the win over Brandon Hoffman, Kaylee Misak, Lauryn Rousseau, and Matt Majewski rounding out the top five in the feature. The twenty-five lap cyber stock A main saw young Ryan Beadle try to steal the show. When the smoke settled Beadle was out raced by Jerry Jansen, Jr. picking up the feature win being followed by Beadle, Jack Cook, Mark Campbell, Brian Gregersen, Wayne Stack, Nick DeLongpre, Maggie Zwart, Walter Nielson, and Curtis Towne rounding out the top ten. With the win Jansen, Jr. picked up his first ever track championship being the fourth champion in four years in the Cyber Stocks.

Entering the night in the Outlaw Late Models twelve time track champion Andy Bozell trailed point leader Brian Bergakker by twenty-one points. The top ten in points were inverted in the one-hundred lap feature putting Mike “Bubba” Brooks on the pole with veteran Rick Senneker with Brooks taking the early lead. It didn’t take long after that for Phil Bozell to take command of the race lead from Brooks to take the season championship win over Jeff Ganus, Brian Bergakker, Andy Bozell, Randy Chupp, Dave Lober, Dave Sensiba, Jeff Bozell, Todd Dougherty, and Todd Harrington rounding out the top ten. After the completion of the race Brian Bergakker celebrated with his crew and family collecting his first Outlaw Late Model track championship.

The Super Stocks entered their forty lap main event with a tight battle between Kenny Head and Brandon Lyons for the championship. The early lead saw Jake Hopwood get out and take control of the race before giving up the lead to Lindsey Katz. Katz held the lead until Kenny Head over took her capturing another feature win over Katz, Darren Lane, Brandon Lyons, Hopwood, Kelli Jo Hofacker, Ryan Wheeler, Matt Corliss, Chris Orr, and Jordan Hunderman rounding out the top ten. The feature win collected Head his first ever Super Stock track championship.

The Pro Stocks saw fifteen cars take the green flag in their final race of the 2012 season regular season race. The feature saw “Crazy” Bob Metheny take the win over Tyler Hufford, Mike Brooks, Brent Hook, Zack Cook, Matt Bainbridge, Keith Wilfong, Llyod Brooks, Brad VanAvery, and Tom Wright rounding out the top ten. The story of the evening was Llyod Brooks collecting his first ever track championship in eight years.

A season high eighteen Mini Stocks hit the speedway for their season championship for the twenty-five lap feature. The feature saw Jeremy Collins pick up his first Kalamazoo Speedway feature win over Billy Bussema, Frank Stager, Shane Clark, Dustin Kline, Steve Potter, Bobby Blount, Doug Smith, Chaz Hook, and Matt Gross rounding out the top ten. Frank Stager collected his first track tittle closing out the evening.

The Kalamazoo Speedway will be back in action on Saturday night September 8th, at 7:00PM for the night of destruction. Please make sure to visit our website at for all for the upcoming information on the Call of the Wild and Super Shoe Nationals. The 2012 regular season is completed, but the ever exciting post season is about to begin.

Share this post