“Bubba” Wins Allstar Performance 100 & Outlaw Super Late Model Championship

“Bubba” Wins Allstar Performance 100 & Outlaw Super Late Model Championship

Kalamazoo Speedway 13_04_06

Mike “Bubba” Brooks entered Saturday nights “Allstar Performance 100 Presented by Lane Automotive” with a two point advantage over fast qualifier and defending champion Brian Bergakker, meaning whichever driver finished better in the race would be crowned the champion.  The two drivers put on an incredible show for the entire 100 lap event with Brooks emerging victorious by 0.509 seconds to claim the victory and the title.  Mark Shook ended his season with an impressive third place finish ahead of Todd Currier and Rick Senneker.  The second half of the top ten was led by Bill Tomlinson over Dan Roodvoets, Matt Bainbridge, Luke Krick and Dick Bissett.

Buddy Head locked up the 2013 Super Stock championship after his third place qualifying effort giving him his second Super Stock title.  In the forty lap feature veteran driver Chris Orr held off a late charge from Kenny Head to pick up the victory.  Rodney Smith, Matt Corliss and Chris Shannon rounded out the top five.  Jim Sternaman finished sixth ahead of Ryan Wheeler, fast qualifier Kelli Jo Hofacker, Darren Lane and Lindsey Katz.  Buddy Head was involved in an accident that took him out of the event on lap 19, which relegated him to a 14th place finish.

The Pro Stock feature saw some drama as point leader John Foote was involved in an early accident and for a moment it appeared the title could be in jeopardy.  Foote however made a very impressive recovery to finish 8th and secure his first Kalamazoo Speedway championship.  Brad VanAvery won the thirty lap feature over fast qualifier Lloyd Brooks, Jerry Pierman, Greg Brown and Tyler Hufford.  The second half of the top ten was led by Brent Hook over Tom Wright, Foote, Toby Montgomery and Mark “Big Show” Fliearman.  Notable finishers included Bud Hybels, who finished 17th.

Dave Long wrapped up the Mini Stock championship a week early but came back Saturday night and put an exclamation point on his season by setting fast time and winning the twenty-five lap feature.  Jeremy Collins finished second ahead of Jerime Damron, Billy Bussema and Andrew Brest.  Shane Clark came home sixth beating out Steve Potter, Rick Mann Sr., Curtis Towne and Doug Smith.

The battle for the Cyber Stock championship came all the way down to the last lap, with Jack Cook picking up his first Kalamazoo Speedway title.  Jerry Jansen Jr. set quick time and won the feature over Cook, Barry Jenkins, Felicia Meade and Jerry Jansen III.  The second half of the top ten was led by Doug Nelson over Tyler McGhan, Allie Hufford, Matt Majewski and Brian Gregersen.

On Sunday the Enduro cars took center stage with veteran driver Tristan Dupuis emerging as the victor of the Kalamazoo Klassic 200 Presented by McDonald’s Towing.  Corey Miechiels finished second ahead of Don Simmons Sr., Sam Andrews and Jeff Cauffman.  Harold Bloomer led the second half of the top ten over Shane Miller, Jim Cauffman, John Chapman and Don Simmons Jr.  The battle for the 2013 Kalamazoo Speedway Enduro championship will conclude on Saturday, October 12th with the running of the Pumpkin Patch 200 Presented by VanGuard Fire & Security Systems.

This Saturday night, September 7th is the fan favorite Night of Destruction!  Some of the events planned for this Saturday include Monster Trucks, Bus Races, a Motorcycle Stunt Show, the Gauntlet Race, Train Races, FWD Demolition Derby, Skid Plate Races, Seek & Destroy and Flag Pole Races.  The night will conclude with a spectacular fireworks display.

For more information on Kalamazoo Speedway visit www.kalamazoospeedway.com.

Be sure to become a fan of Kalamazoo Speedway for all of the latest news and contests at: www.facebook.com/KalamazooSpeedway.

You can also follow Kalamazoo Speedway on our official Twitter page: www.twitter.com/kazoospeedway.

Share this post