Brooks Holds Off Bergakker to Win LKQ 50 @ the Zoo

Brooks Holds Off Bergakker to Win LKQ 50 @ the Zoo

Mike Brooks

NASCAR Whelen All American Series Outlaw Super Late Model point leader Mike “Bubba” Brooks held off fast qualifier Brian Bergakker to win the LKQ 50 Saturday night at Kalamazoo Speedway.  Jeff Ganus finished a solid third ahead of 2011 champion Phil Bozell and Luke Krick.  Ridge/NAPA Auto Parts 50 winner Brandon Lyons led the second half of the top ten over AJ Foote, Todd Harrington, Rick Senneker and Billy Shannon.  Notable finishers included Mark Shook, who finished in the 12th position.  Matt Frazier and Harrington won the heat races.

The Super Stocks ran the “Super Stock Sonic 45 Presented by SendOut Cards”.  Defending champion Kenny Head set quick time once again and rolled an 18 for the inversion, putting him in the 18th starting spot for the 45 lap event.  Head picked his way through the field and picked up the victory over Ryan Wheeler, former champion Matt Corliss, Phil Bozell and Chris Shannon.  Tyler Hufford had another impressive finish, ending up sixth ahead of Jon Orr, Rob Hardy, Lindsey Katz and Jim Leonard.  Notable finishers included point leader Buddy Head, who finished 15th, and Kellie Jo Hofacker, who ended up 20th.

The Pro Stock feature saw John Foote cross the line first ahead of Brent Hook, Bud Hybels, Zack Cook and Jerry Pierman.  Former Pro Stock champion Greg Haynes led the second half of the top ten over Greg Brown, fast qualifier Toby Montgomery, Brad VanAvery and Keith Wilfong.  Notable finishers included Llyod Brooks, who finished 15th.  Montgomery and Foote won the heats.

Dave Long picked up the victory in the 20 lap Mini Stock feature over fast qualifier Steve Potter, Dennis Zimmerman, Billy Bussema and defending champion Frank Stager.  Youngster Chaz Hook finished sixth beating out Shane Clark, Jerime Damron, former Cyber Stock champion Doug Smith and Rick Mann Sr.  Notable finishers included Jeremy Collins in 16th.  Stager and Long won the heat races.

The Cyber Stock feature saw Josh Roberts pick up the checkered flag.  A pair of former champions finished second and third, with Dale Leonard holding off Jerry Jansen Jr. for the runner-up position.  Fast qualifier Jack Cook and Brian Gregersen completed the top five.  Last week’s winner Felicia Meade came home sixth ahead of Jerry Jansen III, Barry Jenkins, Dion Vrooman and Walter Nielson III.  Walter Nielson IV (11th) and Tyler McGhan (13th) were notable finishers outside of the top ten.  Keegan Dykstra and Vrooman won the heat races.

Next on the schedule is one of the biggest events of the Kalamazoo Speedway season.  This Wednesday night, July 3rd Kalamazoo Speedway will be hosting the Stars & Stripes Enduro Presented by Howe Patio & Window.  Zach Westdorp, Corey Miechels, Alan Thorton, Sam Andrews, Zack Cook and several others are expected to compete in the 200 lap events, that promises to have the fans on their feet.  In addition to the Enduro Kalamazoo Speedway officials have thrown in two other events that promise to be crowd pleasers.  Spectator Drags will kick off the event at 7:00 and will pay $500 to the winner!  Then after the Enduro will be Trailer Races, also paying $500 to win!  The night will conclude with the world famous Kalamazoo Speedway Fireworks!!  Wednesday’s schedule will be as follows:

Pit Gates Open


Stars & Stripes Enduro Tech Opens


FREE Bus Rides Start


Stars & Stripes Enduro Tech Closes


Stars & Stripes Enduro Drivers Meeting


FREE Bus Rides End


Spectator Drags


Stars & Stripes Enduro

200 Laps

Trailer Races
World Famous Fireworks

Approx. 10:10

Tickets for this event will be available at the track on Tuesday from 1-6pm and will go on sale at 10am on Wednesday morning.  For more information on Kalamazoo Speedway visit

Share this post