

Kalamazoo, Michigan. Heat and feature winners had their moments in Victory Lane and season champions celebrated their season of racing at Kalamazoo Speedway on September 2, 2022.

Curtis Towne qualified at the top of the 35-car field of Spartan Insulation Zoo Stock with a time of 16.800. James Moore, Gunner Gale, David Smith and John Rupe won the heat races. Ed Clawson, in his first trip to the Speedway this season, won the 'B' feature. Jeff Bozell won the 'A' feature in a competitive but caution plagued race that took out Logan Meade, the point leader, in an early crash. Cody Warren was the runner-up in the feature followed by Rielly Meade, Austin McKee and Kodee Thompson rounding out the top five. The stars were lined up in Logan Meade's favor and despite departing the feature after four laps, he is the season champion, his first championship. Christina Rantz was the runner-up in the Zoo Stock points.

In the tightest championship race, Matthew Elsey Jr. posted fast time in the O'Reilly Auto Parts Outlaw FWD class with a time of 15.143. Defending champion Will Slaughter and Zach Moon won the heat races setting up the feature race that would determine the champion. Matthew Elsey Jr. won the feature but Will Slaughter raced to a second place finish and clinched the season championship by eight points over Elsey Jr. Nick Layman came in third in the feature followed by Rodney Russell II and Joe Carlin in the top five.

Ricky LaDuke picked up where he left off last week and again was the fast qualifier (14.948) in the Techworks Street Stock in the 19 car field. Blake Hybels and James Roden won the heat races. Jeremy Young put up a fight for the feature, but at the line it was Ricky LaDuke becoming the only driver of the night to win his feature and take home the season championship, his first. Jeremy Young was the runner-up in the feature and the point battle, followed by Kyle Ribble, Matt Weenink and Danny Oxford rounding out the top five. Honorable mention goes to Blake Hybels, who finished in sixth but gave the veterans a good run with his leading the pack for much of the race.

In the Hutcherson Construction Template Late Models, things started out as they have frequently during the season with Billy Shannon qualifying at the top (13.763) of the 12 car field. Brandon Lyons and Matt Sullivan won the heat races. Jared Blanchard held off the veteran drivers to win the feature, his first in a Template, followed by a hard-charging Dylan Stovall, Brandon Lyons, Kenny Head and Billy Shannon. Billy Shannon won the season championship, his second, the first coming in 1995.

On Saturday, September 10 it's the Super Shoe Tune-Up event for the rear wheel drive and the front wheel drive divisions. Coverage of the September 2nd races, upcoming events and other news, may be found in the September 5 Kalamazoo Speedway e-newsletter, Track Talk.