

Kalamazoo, Michigan. The final checkered flag has waved at the 72nd Season Opener at the Kalamazoo Speedway this past April 29. Defending Intimidator 100 champion, Tyler Roahrig took fast time (12.229) over the 17 other Outlaw Super Late Model competitors and went on to win the 2022 Intimidator 100. Mark Shook, Adam Terry, Corey Ryman and Jeff Ganus rounded out the top 5.

Kenny Head took fast time in the Template Late Models with a lap speed of 13.560 seconds. Like Roahrig, Head, a four-time track champion, went on to win the feature in a hotly contested race. Dylan Stovall was the runner-up, followed by Billy Shannon, defending track champion Nick Pressler and Cam Schoeck comprising the top 5.

Former track champion Brandon Zachary was the fastest qualifier in the packed field for the Street Stock driving to a 14.629 second lap speed. Austin Maynard took the checkered flag by taking the lead with five laps remaining in the 30-lap race. Buddy Head finished second followed by Kyle VanSparrentak, Kyle Ribble and Jeremy Young.

Dave Leonard Jr. continued his winning ways by capturing quick time (15.252) and going on to win the Outlaw FWD 25-lap feature. Defending track champion Will Slaughter came in second followed by Dale Leonard, Pete Doxey and Jake Doxey in the top five.

Aaron Anderson sped to fast time in the Zoo Stock (16.832). Wes Allen won the 'A' feature over Rodney Russell II, Jason Harrington, Anderson and Tod Watson. Jeremiah Bouma made quite the debut, winning the 'B' feature in not only his first race at Kalamazoo Speedway, but his first race ever.

Next week, May 6, the Outlaw Super Late Models, Template Late Models, Street Stock and the Zoo Stock all race.