



The Auto Value Non-Wing Super Sprints headlined the August 27, 2021 event sponsored by Auto Value Parts Stores on a hot and humid night.

Tyler Roahrig, fresh off his Kalamazoo Klash win last week, returned to Kalamazoo Speedway driving the #56 Sprint and claiming the fastest qualifying time in the 12-car field (12.701). Taylor Ferns led the first laps in the 35-lap feature until Bobby Santos III drove to the lead. Santos III led for the rest of the race with Roahrig making a charge through the field before topping out in second place. Kyle O'Gara came in third.

Billy Shannon took fast time in the Hutcherson Construction Template Late Models with a time of 13.852. Eric McGlothlen and Denver Sweat won the heat races. McGlothlen took the early lead in the 40-lap feature before Nick Pressler passed him on the backstretch with 24 laps remaining. At the checkered it was Nick Pressler (also coming off a win at the Kalamazoo Klash), Eric McGlothlen, Dylan Stovall, Buddy Head, Billy Shannon, Chris Shannon, Zack Cook, Billy Yates, Jesse VanAvery Sr. and Joe Jones rounding out the top 10; all were on the lead lap of the 19-car field. Pressler leads Chris Shannon (-33) in points.

In the SS Auto Pro's of Grand Rapids Street Stock, Jeremy Young posted fast time in the 21-car field with a time of 15.027. Alex Sexton, defending champion Brandon Zachary and Keith Wilfong won the heat races. Keith Wilfong took the early lead in the 30-lap feature. A madhouse restart shook things up and Colin Bozell took the lead and maintained the lead through the waving of the checkered flag, his second feature win in a row. Brandon Zachary finished second followed by Josh Zordan, Greg Brown, Jeremy Young, Taylor Sexton, Alex Sexton, Budd Hybels, Keith Wilfong and Jesse VanAvery Jr., all on the lead lap. Greg Brown extended his point lead over Matt Weenink (-58) whose race ended with 11 laps remaining.

The Spartan Insulation Zoo Stock boasted the most drivers of the night with 37. Matthew Elsey, Jr. took fast time (16.814) while Keegan Letts, Tom Smith, Aaron Anderson and Cody Day took the heat races. Keegan Letts won a second trip to Victory Lane this evening with a 'B' feature win; his first trips to Victory Lane this season. The 20-lap feature was a competitive battle won by Aaron Anderson, his third feature win of the season. Following Anderson across the finish line were Zach Slaton, Matthew Elsey Jr., Logan Meade, Bryson Hosner, Ryan Osborne, Jason Harrington, Mark Gunthorpe, Ross Bergman and Ira Hosner. Tyler McGhan, point leader going into tonight, suffered misfortune in the feature and now trails Elsey, Jr. by 28 points.

On Friday, September 3, all five weekly classes will compete to determine class champions. Ticket windows and the pits open at 3:30, qualifying at 5:30 with racing following at 7:30.