

Kalamazoo, Michigan. And then there was one. With the Auto Value Season Championship night for the Outlaw Super Late Models complete, only one race remains in the regular season. Defending Outlaw Super Late Model Champion, Todd Harrington, won the championship; but we're getting ahead of ourselves.

Aaron Anderson, second in the point race coming into the August 26, 2022 races, posted the fastest time (16.749) in the Spartan Insulation Zoo Stocks but was disqualified for dipping, however small, under the 16.750 Zoo Stock limit. That left Jimmy Hammann (16.856) at the top of the pack. Eric Rabb and Terry Kline were back in victory lane with heat race wins with newcomer Gunner Gale taking the third heat. The 20-lap feature was won by Cory Kruzel driving the point leader's (Logan Meade) enduro car Proving the universe has a sense of humor, Meade finished IIth. James Moore was the runner-up followed by Gunner Gale (who led for half of the race), Chet Terry and Scott Monroe rounding out the top five. Logan Meade continues his point lead in the class; Christina Rantz (-105) moved up a place in the point standings.

Ricky LaDuke was the fast qualifier in the Techworks Street Stock over the 22 other competitors. Matt Weenink, Blake Hybels and Patrick Kirkendall won the heat races. Danny Oxford led for the first five laps of the 30-lap feature before Jeremy Young passed him. Young survived two cautions and retaining his lead; however, Ricky LaDuke made up a lot of track after the last caution to rocket into the lead and add another feature win to his season. Kyle Ribble finished in the second position followed by Brandon Zachary, Jeremy Young and Danny Oxford. With the win, LaDuke extended his lead over Jeremy Young (-77).

Billy Shannon qualified with a 13.779 to head up the Hutcherson Construction Template Late Models qualifying session. Matt Sullivan won the larger than usual heat race. Kenny Head was back in winning form making his 4th trip to victory lane this season in the 30-lap race that saw multiple lead changes. Lucas Krick was the runner-up, followed by Billy Shannon, Nathan Koester and Bill Tomlinson in the top five. Billy Shannon continues his point lead over Kenny Head (-37).

Defending champion Todd Harrington came into the night with a one-point lead over Rick Senneker for the championship and qualified with a 12.414 to extend his lead. With a 60-lap feature, the Outlaws didn't run heats. Doug True took a turn at leading the feature before Steve Needles moved to the lead. Mark Shook chased him around the track in a duel of the #14 cars, then took the lead, making his second trip to Victory Lane this season. Steve Needles finished in the runner-up position followed by Todd Harrington, John Long and Doug True. Todd Harrington won the season championship, his third overall. Rick Senneker had a disappointing evening and finished his season as the runner-up (-35).

On Friday, September 2, it's Season Championship Night for the Template Late Models, Street Stock, Outlaw FWD and the Zoo Stock plus the make up night for Crazy 8's. For expanded news and photos of the August 26 races, upcoming events and other news, catch the Kalamazoo Speedway e-newsletter, Track Talk, on August 29.