

IN THIS EDITION

3,2

SEPTEMBER 18 NIGHT OF DESTRUCTION SEPTEMBER 24-26 SUPER SHOE OCTOBER 16 AWARDS PARTY SEPTEMBER 11 RACING RECAP



SATURDAY, SEPTEMBER 18 🖘 THE LEGENDARY NIGHT OF DESTRUCTION

NIGHT OF DESTRUCTION SEPTEMBER 18, 2021

9:00 pm	
\$30	
\$20	
\$1O	
\$30	
\$15	
FREE	
1:00 pm	
7:00 pm	

Coolers 14" and smaller are allowed; no glass.

It's the Legendary Night of Destruction coming up this Saturday, September 18. Need we say more??

Spectator Drags Monster Trucks! Two Rounds! **Trailer** Race Fox & Hounds Zoo Train Race Stacker Cars Race **Twisted Mattress Race** Scarecrow 2 Stunts **Bus Races** FIREWORKS

Come early for monster truck rides and free bus rides. Avoid the ticket lines and purchase your tickets in advance by phone! (269) 355.4628.

SEPTEMBER 24-26 * SUPER SHOE XXXIV

All Super Shoe information is posted on the home page of the website (all under one heading). Information, entry forms, schedules? It's all there. What a way to close out the season!

Campers have until September 15 to claim their former camping sites; after that date, all unclaimed sites will be available on a first-come, first-come basis. Pit spaces in the upper pits are sold out. The 160 infield pit spaces will be available on a first-come, first-serve basis starting on Super Shoe Friday.

OCTOBER 16 🕬 END OF SEASON AWARDS PARTY



SUPER SHOE TUNE UP * RACE RECAP (

No more weekly classes, just front wheel drives, rear wheel drives and the National Compacts Touring Series. Five score and 9 cars showed up to race at the "Run What Ya Brung" Super Shoe Tune Up.



The National Compact Touring Series was in the house hosting their 8th Annual World Series of Compacts with its \$3,500 purse. In a continuation of Kalamazoo Speedway's regular season results, Dave Leonard Jr. clocked

the fasted time in the 31-car field (14.980) and then took the checkered flag for the 40-lap main feature. Jack Albright of Dover, Ohio led the first few laps while the field rearranged itself behind him. Nick Failing took a turn at the lead before Will Slaughter moved into the front. Leonard Jr. moved around the rest of the field to take the lead with 21 laps remaining. He was followed across the line by 2021 Outlaw FWD champion Will Slaughter, Jacob Gustafson, Phil Malouf and Ben Wilcox making up the top five. The second half of the order started with Nick Failing followed by Darek Morris, Robert Winrott, Jorden Brinkert and Jake Albright. Chris Elwell picked up the 20-lap 'B' feature win. Series owner, Andy Jach, arranged a 911 remembrance having all 20 of its main feature drivers run 4-wide, each carrying an American flag, for a parade lap. Feature winner photos follow on the next page.



Chris Elwell (National Compacts 'B' feature) Dave Leonard Jr. (National Compacts 'A' feature)



In the front wheel drives Drew Losey took fast time (15.263) out of the 42 entrants. Mark Gunthorpe (left) won the 20-lap, caution plagued 'B' feature. Ira Hosner and Bryson Hosner shared the front row for the 25-lap 'A' feature. Ira Hosner took the first lap and Bryson Hosner took the next several before Matt Brauer rocketed from the back of the pack to take the lead five laps into the race and kept that lead through the end of the race. Brauer (next page) was followed across the finish line by Drew Losey, Will Slaughter, Matthew Elsey Jr., and Willie Neal. (Elsey Jr.'s (next page) car sported, quite possibly, the largest boards ever

seen on a front wheel drive vehicle.) The second half of the order started with Yogi Metz Sr. followed by John Gonzales, Dale Leonard, Camile Lewis and Bryson Beebe,

TRACK TALK TRACK TALK TRACK TALK

Matt Brauer FWD 'A' Feature



Andrew Brest took fast time of the 36 rear wheel drive entries sporting a modest board set-up (11.900). He and A.J. Foote Jr. (sporting an impressive board [bottom]) had a two-car speed showdown (a surprise addition). Brest put up an 11.415, while Foote followed with an 11.986. But it was Foote (below right) who put it all together to win the 45-lap 'A' feature. The lead changed numerous times with Curtis Towne, Joe Gonzales, and Andrew Brest having the lead at one time or another. Watching Foote and Brest vie for position was dizzying; blink and you missed a position change or more. Rob Hardy, Rick Senneker, Josh Trammel and Jeff Bozell followed Foote across the finish line, rounding out the top five. Tim Easey came in sixth, followed by Ken Papesh, Nick Larabee, Paul Jakubik and Andrew Brest. For Senneker's part, he drove his #57 unaltered, just as he would in a weekly race, and was happy with his car's performance and placement in the final accounting. Caleb Barron (below left) won the 30-lap 'B' feature,



TRACK TALK TRACK TALK TRACK TALK