

**IN THIS EDITION JULY 16 WEEKLY RACING JULY 30 PROGRAM CHANGES JULY 9 RACE RECAP** 



# FRIDAY, JULY 16 WEEKLY RACING & AUTO VALUE WINGED SPRINTS

WEEKLY RACING & AUTO VALUE WINGED SPRINTS FRIDAY, JULY 16	
Pits Open	3:00
Adult Pit Pass (12+)	\$30
Youth Pit Pass	\$15
Adult Grandstand	\$18
Youth Grandstand (6-12)	\$5

Kids 5 & Under FREE **Program Starts** 7:30 PM

> Zoo Stock (top) Street Stock (bottom)

The Auto Value Winged Sprints join the Outlaw Super Late Models, Street Stock, and the Zoo Stock on Friday, July 16. Thus far this season, no driver has beaten the track speed record in any class or guest series. Will a record fall this week?



## JULY 30 PROGRAM CHANGES (Take III)

After a couple of false starts the July 30 program is finally set. All five classes will be racing for extra payout and all but the Template Late Models will be racing for points. The Street Stock, Outlaw FWD and the Zoo Stock will run heat races. Thanks to the sponsors who are sponsoring the extra purse money for the night. Trophies for the night will be provided by the International Women's Motorsports Association.

#### LANDSCAPE FORMS OUTLAW SUPER LATE MODELS

GT Products 75 (\$2,000 to win & \$400 to start)

#### **HUTCHERSON CONSTRUCTION TEMPLATE LATE MODELS**

Hutcherson Construction 50 (\$1,200 to win & \$200 to start)

#### **SS AUTO PRO'S OF GRAND RAPIDS STREET STOCK**

SS Auto Pro's of Grand Rapids 40 (\$1000 to win & \$150 to start)

#### **O'REILLY AUTO PARTS OUTLAW FWD**

Randy's Auto Service 30 (\$500 to win & \$100 to start)

#### **SPARTAN INSULATION ZOO STOCK**

Howe Patio & Windows 25 ('A' feature) (\$400 to win & \$75 to start)

Howe Patio & Windows 20 ('B' feature) (\$200 to win & \$50 to start)

### **JULY 9 RACE RECAP**

Tyler McGhan was the top qualifier (16.848) of the 40 Spartan Insulation Zoo Stock that showed up to compete; that's McGhan's third fast-time of the season. Charles Anderson, Drew Hosner, Mark Gunthorpe and Don Teadt won the heat races. Anderson and Hosner have won a heat race previously; this was Gunthorpe's and Teadt's first trip to Victory Lane. Following contact in the middle of the backstretch during Heat 2, Travis Petto's #23 was done for the night and needed a tow from the track; however, his tire got caught up in the competition and raced all the way around the track to finish the heat.



# TRACK TALK TRACK TALK TRACK TALK









Hutcherson

Defending track champion Rielly Meade (right) won the 15-lap B feature in a highly competitive race. Meade won a 'B' feature on his way to the 2019 championship but all the same he'd prefer to run in the 'A' features. Chad Bronson, Cody Warren, Chad VandenBerg and Tyler Diamond rounded out the top five finishers.

Ira Hosner led the first lap of the 20-lap 'A' feature before son, Drew Hosner, passed him. At the halfway point, Hosner maintained a substantial lead while Ira Hosner, Matthew Elsey Jr., Eric Mepyans and Matt Elsey (must have been father/son night!) were his closest pursuers. Hosner started slowing and pulled into the pits out of fuel giving Elsey Jr. the lead. With five to go, Tyler McGhan had broken into the top five, charged into second place and was making a run on Elsey Jr. when the checkered waved giving Elsey Jr. his first feature win of the season. Elsey, Ir. and McGhan both started at the tail of the field. Following Elsey Jr. and McGhan across the finish line were Ira Hosner, Matt Elsey and Eric Mepyans rounding out the top five. Ryan Osborne finished sixth followed by Michael Vanpelt, Charles Anderson, Logan Meade and Wendell Scott. With the win, Elsey Jr. takes the point lead by 2 points over Tyler McGhan.

Dave Leonard Jr. took fast time for the third time in a row in the O'Reilly Auto Parts Outlaw FWDs with a time of 15.066; the fastest time posted in qualifying this season. Jake Doxey and John Munro won the heat races. Dave Leonard Jr. used his speed to win the 25-lap feature, his third feature win this season. John Munro took the early lead from the second row with Nick Layman rocketing out from mid-field to take the lead five laps in. Layman's lead was short-lived

K TALK



as Leonard Jr. moved into the lead with 19 laps remaining and promptly out-paced the field. A caution with two laps to go put the top cars on an even footing for a shootout for the win. Will Slaughter and Drew Losey gave Leonard Jr. a run for his money but Leonard Jr. took the final flag followed by Will Slaughter, Drew Losey, Nick Layman and Jake Doxey. The second half of the order started with John Munro followed by Dave Leonard Sr., Nick Failing, Tyler McGhan and Camille Lewis. Will Slaughter continues his grip on the point lead.

In the SS Auto Pro's of Grand Rapids Street Stock, Matt Weenink drove to his first quick time this season with a lap speed of 14.912. Greg Brown, John Chapman and MaKenna Long won the heat races. Taylor Imus won the Last Chance race and advanced to the 30-lap feature. Also advancing were Chuck Caudill, MaKenna Long and Gabe Sheppard. Two quick cautions marred the start of the feature with Chuck Caudill being towed off the track with one lap in and Kenny Head II going into the wall with 5 laps in. John Chapman

RACK TALK TRACI



had the early lead giving it up to Calvin Foote after the second caution. Ricky LaDuke had moved up to third with 10 laps complete, taking the lead from Foote with 17 laps remaining. Despite a few more cautions, LaDuke retained the lead encountering challenges from the pack chasing him. Following him across the line were Greg Brown, Matt Weenink, Budd Hybels and Calvin Foote. The second half of the order included Jeremy Young, Keith Wilfong, Alex Sexton, Taylor Sexton and Colin Bozell rounding out the top 10. LaDuke's

supporters doused him with a celebratory beverage in Victory Lane. With former point leader Brandon Zachary's absence, Matt Weenink has taken the point lead with Greg Brown trailing by 20 points.

Chris Shannon claimed fast time in the Hutcherson Construction Template Late Models with a time of 13.759, his second this season. Heat races were won by Kenny Head, Glen Burnside and Eric McGlothlen (his second this season). Cory Pressler took the early lead of the 23 cars in the 35-lap feature while a lead pack of 6 cars jostled for position (Pressler, Keegan Dykstra, Buddy Head, Eric McGlothlen, Nick Pressler and Billy Shannon). Nick Pressler took the lead from Cory Pressler with 18 laps remaining. Keegan Dykstra retired from the race in yet another frustrating and disappointing finish when his car hit the wall in Turn



2. Buddy Head had troubles of his own and also headed for the pits. Dylan Stovall and Kenny Head joined the lead pack but Nick Pressler (right) prevailed followed by Eric McGlothlen, Billy Shannon, Cory Pressler, and Dylan Stovall. Kenny Head led the second half of the order followed by Bill Tomlinson, Denver Sweat, Glen Burnside and Billy Yates. Defending champion and former point leader Chris Shannon departed the race early. Nick Pressler is the new point leader with Chris Shannon down by 8 points.

The Michiana Vintage Racers strutted their cars during qualifying when they put in some hot laps and again putting in hot laps for their 15-lap feature. The laps weren't timed and no one takes the checkered flag; drivers race for the pure enjoyment and thrill of owning and driving on a track in their superb vintage cars.





Fast, family fun for 71 years





